Chocolate Chess Pie I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2003
I've been making this recipe for years, and it has always been a guest favorite. I have even had people show up at my door because they've heard I made it. I add a bit of salt to the recipe and make sure I've mixed it on high for at least 5 minutes. It taste better the longer it's mixed. As another reviewer said, it's even better as a left over.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
47 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2000
Delicious, absolutely delicious. My Mama said that this was the best chocolate chess pie that she has ever eaten!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2004
Needed to come up with a special dessert for company last night, had all the ingredients on hand, so gave it a try. Served it with a dollop of whipped cream and everyone loved it! DID take a little longer to bake ("set") than stated and had to cover the pie crust edges with foil to prevent over browning. Next time I will be prepared to expect that. Definitely an EASY to make WINNER!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2002
I had to take a star off because it didn't mix up just right for me. The finished product was all right, but I don't like recipes where an electric mixer is an absolute must. Maybe it was my fault, but this recipe wasn't the best anyway.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2002
This recipe is gerat! Very easy to make, and absolutely divine! For a change I sometimes make this in a square pan and cut into bars--fantastic to bring to parties!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2002
The chocolate chess pie was very easy to make, mixed well with a hand mixer. It tasted even better the next day! Great recipe, great pie!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2005
I was excited to try this pie because of all the great reviews but it turned out a strange mixture of chocolate and egg taste. I didn't give it the lowest rating because I had never had any type of Chess Pie so maybe that's how it's suppose to taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MEME

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2011
Well, I made this for my sweetie for Valentine's Day. Not a winner. Sorry, but this was too sweet and not very chocolaty, even though I used the special dark cocoa. DH said it tasted too eggy as well. On another note, in trying to decide which recipe to make, chocolate chess pie I or chocolate chess pie II, they are pretty much the same recipe, excepting that II uses melted butter and I uses softened butter. I did as previous reviewers suggested and mixed the filling for 5 minutes, but what's wrong with this recipe can't be fixed by mixing longer...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by goodfood4ursoul

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2007
This was my first pie ever! It was so easy and my husband raved! One thing that someone else mentioned...cover the pie edges with foil, because it will burn to a crisp! I caught it half way through and saved the pie, but make sure that you foil the crust!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by shaunabphillips
Home Town: Meridian, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2001
My 8 year old daughter made this with very little help.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 39) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Chocolate Cream Pie I

This easy pie is dense with dark-chocolate flavor.

French Silk Chocolate Pie I

See how to make an amazingly simple, silky chocolate pie.

How to Make Chocolate Pecan Pie

Put a sweet, chocolate twist on classic pecan pie with this recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States