Chocolate Chess Pie I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by CaptainDavey
Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2013
I used a chocolate graham cracker crust which made it even better!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CaptainDavey

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2013
I made this at Christmas and only made 1 substitution, using 1 tsp. cream sherry in place of the vanilla. It was WONDERFUL. This is super easy and had a very smooth texture. One of my new favorites!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2013
Good but a little gritty and the appearance was unappealing. Not sure I would make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2012
Very good and easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Olivia Foxfire

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seguin, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2012
It was ok. Def cover the edges of your pie crust as they will burn. I tasted little to no chocolate and had even put more cocoa than the recipe called for. It tastes like pecan pie without the pecans!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessica P.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Commack, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2011
Super recipe. The only change was making the tablespoons of cocoa a little more than level. Covered the edge of crust with pie shield during the entire baking time. DELICIOUS! And so easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cranefamily

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Romney, West Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2011
Great tasting pie and easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2011
Very good, but not the best I've ever had.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2011
Well, I made this for my sweetie for Valentine's Day. Not a winner. Sorry, but this was too sweet and not very chocolaty, even though I used the special dark cocoa. DH said it tasted too eggy as well. On another note, in trying to decide which recipe to make, chocolate chess pie I or chocolate chess pie II, they are pretty much the same recipe, excepting that II uses melted butter and I uses softened butter. I did as previous reviewers suggested and mixed the filling for 5 minutes, but what's wrong with this recipe can't be fixed by mixing longer...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by goodfood4ursoul

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2010
Love this!! It's so easy and delicious! I mixed with hand held mixer for 5 minutes and it came out wonderful!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 39) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chocolate Cream Pie I

This easy pie is dense with dark-chocolate flavor.

French Silk Chocolate Pie I

See how to make an amazingly simple, silky chocolate pie.

Rich Chocolate Truffle Pie

Rich, quick, and delicious, this amazing chocolate pie has it all.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States