Chocolate Cherry Upside Down Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2001
This cake is outstanding!! (And beautiful looking too!) I made it for my daughter's birthday cake, and no one could believe that it was dairy free. (She's allergic to milk and eggs) It is the so fudgy! Even those who can tolerate dairy will love this cake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2000
Now my absolute FAVORITE cake! My Dear Husband even tried to make it into a 2 layer cake but the cherries slid out and the top slid off! But, it was wonderful anyway!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BDAY61

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2002
This cake is moist and incredible! Especially after I added some chocolate chips to the batter to add texture. It's tough to avoid eggs, but this recipe makes it worthwhile!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2002
This took next to no time to prepare, and tasted like "real" chocolate cake! Who knew a cake without butter and eggs could taste so good? The cherries give it a nice kick, too. Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2002
WOW!! This is the first healthy recipe that my whole family enjoyed. I used a granulated sugar substitute to lower the overall calories and also used light cherry pie filling. It was still sweet, moist and delicious. So not only can this recipe be dairy-free and egg-free, it can also be sugar-free and still please everyone!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2003
easy , super fast , and taste superb.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2003
Excellent Cake! I thought it was light and the cherry added a great flavor and lots of moisture! I was a little unsure with the vinegar, but it was great! I added a little cool whip on the top to keep it light!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2003
I made this cake but served the cherry pie filling as an option on the side instead. The cake was wonderful! Very light, not too sweet and very easy to make. I'll be making this one again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2004
Fantastic recipe - it really gives a great result. My kids are allergic to dairy, so I made this for my husband's birthday, and for the first time we could all eat the same cake. It was really light, moist and fudgy - we all loved it. Definitely a family favorite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2004
What a wonderful cake! Moist, chocolately, and not too sweet. My son's allergic to milk and eggs and I had just about given up on finding good cakes that he could enjoy. This recipe has restored my hope. I can't wait to try more from this site!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 56) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

One Bowl Chocolate Cake III

This quick-and-easy chocolate cake is so moist and rich.

Too Much Chocolate Cake

Too much chocolate is just enough with this moist, prize-winning cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States