Chocolate Cherry Upside Down Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2002
I think this recipe is fantastic. It was very easy to make, but I could not get the upside-down bit right. The cake would not come off the pan. It might have been better if I lined the tin. Also, I was not sure if pie cherries were can cherries. In Australia there were no pie cherries unfortunately only canned ones with juice!. And I wasn't sure whether it had to be finely chopped or put whole. hahaha, but the taste was absolutely delicious!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2005
This was great! I am allergic to dairy and eggs, and I am also not able to eat gluten (wheat, rye, barley). As you can imagine, cake is hard to come by for me. I made this for my birthday & I brought it to work when we were celebrating. I substituted the wheat flour with gluten free flour (Bob's Red Mill All Purpose GF Flour) and a tsp of xanthan gum. I also added dairy free chocolate chips into the batter, and I drizzled some chocolate syrup on the top when it was done. And it was great! It got eaten before the "regular" cake did! (Addition 3 years later) I STILL get requests for this at work - even on other people's birthdays - and people ask me for the recipe all the time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SARAHNDIPITY02

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Maple Valley, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2002
WOW!! This is the first healthy recipe that my whole family enjoyed. I used a granulated sugar substitute to lower the overall calories and also used light cherry pie filling. It was still sweet, moist and delicious. So not only can this recipe be dairy-free and egg-free, it can also be sugar-free and still please everyone!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2005
A friend is very allergic to dairy and also a chocoholic. I made this cake for New Year's Eve and she was "giddy." Even our husbands, true food lovers, raved over it. To reduce the fat, I used 1/4 c each of apple sauce and oil instead of 1/2 c of oil. Result: fudgy and light with less fat and calories. I made a second batch without cocoa powder and used bananas and apple sauce instead. Result:BEST banana cake I ever ate. No frosting or sides necessary.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2002
Very quick but I wasn't impressed with the taste and it wasn't too popular at our house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHER

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2002
This took next to no time to prepare, and tasted like "real" chocolate cake! Who knew a cake without butter and eggs could taste so good? The cherries give it a nice kick, too. Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2004
What a wonderful cake! Moist, chocolately, and not too sweet. My son's allergic to milk and eggs and I had just about given up on finding good cakes that he could enjoy. This recipe has restored my hope. I can't wait to try more from this site!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2003
This was easy and good. I dropped some chocolate chunks into the batter and of course they sank down to the cherries and melted in with the syrup- mmmmm.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2000
I made this for a potluck lunch at work and everyone complimented the cake. They didn't know it didn't contain dairy products! Many people requested the recipe. Would make this many times again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Woodbury, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Groton, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2004
Fantastic recipe - it really gives a great result. My kids are allergic to dairy, so I made this for my husband's birthday, and for the first time we could all eat the same cake. It was really light, moist and fudgy - we all loved it. Definitely a family favorite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 54) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

One Bowl Chocolate Cake III

This quick-and-easy chocolate cake is so moist and rich.

Too Much Chocolate Cake

Too much chocolate is just enough with this moist, prize-winning cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States