Chocolate Cherry Upside Down Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2015
This was amazing! I did use coconut oil instead of vegetable oil, and I lined the pan with foil after reading another review saying it didn't flip well. It was the moistest (is that even a word?) and the best tasting cake I have ever made. I cooked it 40 mins because it was still jiggly after 30. I made it a week ago and the family is still raving about it. I'm not a baker, or even a great cook, but this is already known as "The Cake". Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2014
Made it exactly as specified, and topped with homemade whipped cream. This is now the family Black Forest Cake. Top marks for simplicity without relying on boxed cake mix. A winner! Thank you Janice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2014
This was EXCELLENT and easy :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jamie chapman

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Sarah Hoover
Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2014
Fantastic! I used bing cherries since that's what I had. Didn't have much trouble getting it out of the pan... Just one messy spot but who cares? Looks delicious and is very moist. Yum!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Hoover

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tillsonburg, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Kitchener, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2013
The flavor of this cake was slightly bland and the texture a bit crumbly. Awkward to eat, since it fell apart so easily. With a little tweaking, could be great for vegans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2013
This was easy and tastes pretty yummy. The cake is a bit strange not what I would think of for cake but still very moist and rich. I had to bake mine maybe an extra ten minutes as it didn't set in 35 minutes but closer to maybe 45 minutes. I think next time I might add some extra cherries to the pie filling as mine seemed lacking in cherries but might just be the brand of pie filling I used.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by coleebear

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sykesville, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2012
I'll be honest, I was prepared to not like this recipe. I'm not the biggest fan of cherrie pie which left me with reservations about using a cherry pie filling (especially one that comes out of a can!). In addition to that, I'm not vegan... in fact I LOVE butter, cream, cheese, meat, etc. etc. So I remained skeptical about the positive reviews assuming that most of the reviewers do not eat such animal products and may have a skewed view. Like when me vegan friends tell me their tofurkey tastes like real meat... no it doesn't. That being said, I tried this recipe anyway for my non-dairy and egg eating friend whose birthday it was. And I'm happy to say that I was definitely proved wrong! The cake was so moist and decadent, and the cherry topping was the perfect compliment. I took the advice of several others and added some vegan chocolate chips which brought the cake to a whole new level of deliciousness. It was a big hit all around!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2012
Made it for a baby shower, where the mother was severely allergic to milk. She loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2012
Cake was easy to make but a little heavy on the chocolate, if that's possible! The crowd seemed to like it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2012
This cake was moist and very good I made it for work and there was none left. I think I will Make this for my daughter, She is allergic to dairy, I am more than sure she will love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 57) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

One Bowl Chocolate Cake III

This quick-and-easy chocolate cake is so moist and rich.

Too Much Chocolate Cake

Too much chocolate is just enough with this moist, prize-winning cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States