Chocolate Cherry Upside Down Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2000
Now my absolute FAVORITE cake! My Dear Husband even tried to make it into a 2 layer cake but the cherries slid out and the top slid off! But, it was wonderful anyway!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BDAY61

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2000
I made this for a potluck lunch at work and everyone complimented the cake. They didn't know it didn't contain dairy products! Many people requested the recipe. Would make this many times again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Woodbury, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Groton, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2001
This cake is outstanding!! (And beautiful looking too!) I made it for my daughter's birthday cake, and no one could believe that it was dairy free. (She's allergic to milk and eggs) It is the so fudgy! Even those who can tolerate dairy will love this cake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2002
This cake is moist and incredible! Especially after I added some chocolate chips to the batter to add texture. It's tough to avoid eggs, but this recipe makes it worthwhile!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2002
I think this recipe is fantastic. It was very easy to make, but I could not get the upside-down bit right. The cake would not come off the pan. It might have been better if I lined the tin. Also, I was not sure if pie cherries were can cherries. In Australia there were no pie cherries unfortunately only canned ones with juice!. And I wasn't sure whether it had to be finely chopped or put whole. hahaha, but the taste was absolutely delicious!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2002
This took next to no time to prepare, and tasted like "real" chocolate cake! Who knew a cake without butter and eggs could taste so good? The cherries give it a nice kick, too. Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2002
Was easy and quick to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2002
WOW!! This is the first healthy recipe that my whole family enjoyed. I used a granulated sugar substitute to lower the overall calories and also used light cherry pie filling. It was still sweet, moist and delicious. So not only can this recipe be dairy-free and egg-free, it can also be sugar-free and still please everyone!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2002
Very quick but I wasn't impressed with the taste and it wasn't too popular at our house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHER

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2002
It's a little heavy, but still good. It's worth trying, and just really easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 55) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

One Bowl Chocolate Cake III

This quick-and-easy chocolate cake is so moist and rich.

Too Much Chocolate Cake

Too much chocolate is just enough with this moist, prize-winning cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States