Chocolate Cherry Upside Down Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2005
I made this for a lactose-intolerant friend and I was skeptical that it wouldn't taste like "real cake," but I have to admit: It was really tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BOBSEY95

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: La Mirada, California, USA
Living In: Durham, New Hampshire, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2005
This is a fantastic recipe! I am on a dairy free diet but can have eggs so I added one egg and left out the vinegar. It was such a yummy moist cake and very chocolatey - It was a hit for all my friends!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2005
This was great! I am allergic to dairy and eggs, and I am also not able to eat gluten (wheat, rye, barley). As you can imagine, cake is hard to come by for me. I made this for my birthday & I brought it to work when we were celebrating. I substituted the wheat flour with gluten free flour (Bob's Red Mill All Purpose GF Flour) and a tsp of xanthan gum. I also added dairy free chocolate chips into the batter, and I drizzled some chocolate syrup on the top when it was done. And it was great! It got eaten before the "regular" cake did! (Addition 3 years later) I STILL get requests for this at work - even on other people's birthdays - and people ask me for the recipe all the time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SARAHNDIPITY02

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Maple Valley, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2005
although it looked good and tasted ok, it tasted nothing like chocolate. as a result, i had alot leftover. the texture of the cake was great though. if i make this again i'll be dumping a lot of chocolate chips into the batter or melted chocolate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2005
A friend of mine at work is vegan and often misses out on the yummy treats that we have, so this cake worked perfect! I made this for a work birthday celebration with raspberry topping instead. I also used whole-wheat pastry flour and replaced half of the oil with applesauce. This was a very soft, moist, and flavor full cake. My chocoholic husband loved it even though he refuses to call it cake because of it’s vegan qualities. Thank you for the wonderful vegan friendly cake. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Longmont, Colorado, USA
Living In: Saint Paul, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2005
it was a lovely cake!!!!! but i used less salt but it still tasted fab!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2005
This was a delicious cake that was truly easy to make. I halved the recipe to use it in a heart-shaped pan, and it was a really nice Valentine's Day treat. I was afraid it might be too dense or dry but it's not at all; it's very moist. I gave it 4 stars because I think it could have been a little sweeter, maybe if I'd have added some semisweet chocolate to it beforehand. But I will definitely be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2005
A friend is very allergic to dairy and also a chocoholic. I made this cake for New Year's Eve and she was "giddy." Even our husbands, true food lovers, raved over it. To reduce the fat, I used 1/4 c each of apple sauce and oil instead of 1/2 c of oil. Result: fudgy and light with less fat and calories. I made a second batch without cocoa powder and used bananas and apple sauce instead. Result:BEST banana cake I ever ate. No frosting or sides necessary.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2004
What a wonderful cake! Moist, chocolately, and not too sweet. My son's allergic to milk and eggs and I had just about given up on finding good cakes that he could enjoy. This recipe has restored my hope. I can't wait to try more from this site!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2004
This is an unusually moist cake, great topped with whipped cream or ice cream!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 55) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

One Bowl Chocolate Cake III

This quick-and-easy chocolate cake is so moist and rich.

Too Much Chocolate Cake

Too much chocolate is just enough with this moist, prize-winning cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States