Chocolate Cherry Upside Down Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Photo by Roxie
Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2008
Oh my! Thank you so much for this absolutely delicious Recipe! It was amazing! I added some Mini Chocolate Chips, but it's totally awesome without, too. I also used this Recipe to for Cupcakes (without the Cherry Pie Filling).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Roxie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Nürnberg, Bayern, Germany
Living In: Lodi, California, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2008
Oh my! THis has a brownie texture that is wonderful! Try baking it in 2 smaller pans so the middle bakes thoroghly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2008
Delicious cake that was a big hit with my family. I had trouble with the cherry topping, as many of the cherries were still in the pan after I inverted it (and I had pre-sprayed the pan with Pam). It didn't matter though--everyone gobbled this cake up! As well, I used plain white vinegar instead of distilled vingear and the cake was still fine. I would definitely recommend this for everyone -- and especially to people with egg and milk allergies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2008
Made this recipe for my family last night. Thumbs up and down. The cake it'self is very heavy, and the cherries on top don't taste tasty after they cooled and the next day was event sticker. Maybe it's best hot out of the oven? I also had to bake it about 20 min. longer than called for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mrsmaggiek

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2008
Wow, this is goooood! I am amazed it is very moist, like a brownies. I didn't have vanilla, so I used almond ext. & it was great. Next time I will add chocolate chips like others suggest.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JEANIE_STENSON

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Stow, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2007
This is a terrific cake! Ds is allergic to milk, soy, and eggs, so baking can be a little tricky... but this cake is so easy! People never believe that it's made without all the standard baking ingredients. It stays nice & moist, even if you leave the cherries out & use them as a topping later. Thanks for sharing this one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2007
This cake is delicious! And very easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bill Gillaspie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Thomasville, Alabama, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2007
Three stars for the dairy-free, egg-free recipe; No stars for the taste. Even with Cool Whip this dessert was a disaster! Blech.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2006
I made this for my egg/dairy allergic toddler's birthday. Nobody could tell that it wasn't a "real" cake. VERY moist and fudgy.....I was pleasantly surprised :) I added a few choc chips to the batter and this was SO chocalatey! I was extremely skeptical....I am always looking for "safe" dessert recipes for my little guy that are GOOD, and this was by far the tastiest! Thanks for a great recipe! Definately a keeper :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LoriAnn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2006
I liked this cake.Always looking for new cakes to make.Will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by luv2cook2
Home Town: Carlisle, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 55) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

One Bowl Chocolate Cake III

This quick-and-easy chocolate cake is so moist and rich.

Too Much Chocolate Cake

Too much chocolate is just enough with this moist, prize-winning cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States