Chocolate Cherry Upside Down Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: May 29, 2011
AWESOME!!! I took it to a pot luck & there was none left!! A must make! & didn't change a thing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by American

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2010
Eh - it was ok - the cake was pretty dry and not that flavorful. The cherry topping was good...not something I'll make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2010
This was so good and easy to make. I will totally be making this again. I was surprised at how chocolaty it tasted. It was also fun to watch the chemical reaction with the vinegar and baking soda. It would be something kids would like to watch and help with.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2010
My husband and I were not particularly happy with the overall taste of this cake. There was a large portion of the cake left over that I ended up having to throw away. I was sort of excited to try the recipe, since it was a healthier option from other recipes. However, I will not be making this cake again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Van Lear, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Sitka, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2009
I used a recipe I have used for years called Amazon Chocolate Cake which is very similar to this one. I lined the greased pan with parchment, which I didn't grease. It helped to get the cake out. I thought that 1 can of filling didn't have as many cherries as i would have liked and the "sauce" was absorbed by the cake as it cooled. Still, my company thought it was a success.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2009
My ten year old daughter made this last night for dessert. It was delicious. We'll definitely be keeping this recipe to make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hilmar, California, USA
Living In: Trenton, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2009
This is a great recipe to make without dairy or eggs. The cake is moist and the cherries are a nice alternative to frosting. We buy Oregon canned cherries and make the filling ourselves. Great cake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2009
I tried this recipe but it did not work well for me. Better luck next time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lindale, Texas, USA
Living In: Wyoming, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2008
I brought this to thanksgiving and ended up taking 3/4 of the cake home. Not a favorite in my family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tyanna Gray

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Blaine, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2008
I took this to a party, and the men absolutely loved it. I thought it was good, but a good plop of ice cream or whipped cream would have helped immensely.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 55) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

One Bowl Chocolate Cake III

This quick-and-easy chocolate cake is so moist and rich.

Too Much Chocolate Cake

Too much chocolate is just enough with this moist, prize-winning cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States