Chocolate Cherry Upside Down Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2012
This cake was moist and very good I made it for work and there was none left. I think I will Make this for my daughter, She is allergic to dairy, I am more than sure she will love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2012
This was really good. I only had 1 cup of white flour left so I used that plus 1.25 cups of whole wheat flour. And instead of making it in a 9 x 13 pan, I used two round 9" pans. In between the layers I put Cool Whip Lite. And served with more of the cool whip. The result was that it looked really pretty and it tasted very similar to a Tastykake chocolate creamie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Wilmington, Delaware, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jacqueline T
Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2011
very moist! i put in raspberry instead of cherry, as more of the people liked raspberry. i didn't have powdered cocoa so i ended up substituting mini chocolate chips. the chips sank to where the pie filling is, but it still turned out great. though the baking time for me was actually 1 hour 25 minutes. i lined the pan with wax paper, and i had an easy time getting the cake out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jacqueline T

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2011
AWESOME!!! I took it to a pot luck & there was none left!! A must make! & didn't change a thing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by American

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2010
Eh - it was ok - the cake was pretty dry and not that flavorful. The cherry topping was good...not something I'll make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2010
This was so good and easy to make. I will totally be making this again. I was surprised at how chocolaty it tasted. It was also fun to watch the chemical reaction with the vinegar and baking soda. It would be something kids would like to watch and help with.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2010
My husband and I were not particularly happy with the overall taste of this cake. There was a large portion of the cake left over that I ended up having to throw away. I was sort of excited to try the recipe, since it was a healthier option from other recipes. However, I will not be making this cake again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Van Lear, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Sitka, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2009
I used a recipe I have used for years called Amazon Chocolate Cake which is very similar to this one. I lined the greased pan with parchment, which I didn't grease. It helped to get the cake out. I thought that 1 can of filling didn't have as many cherries as i would have liked and the "sauce" was absorbed by the cake as it cooled. Still, my company thought it was a success.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2009
My ten year old daughter made this last night for dessert. It was delicious. We'll definitely be keeping this recipe to make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hilmar, California, USA
Living In: Trenton, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2009
This is a great recipe to make without dairy or eggs. The cake is moist and the cherries are a nice alternative to frosting. We buy Oregon canned cherries and make the filling ourselves. Great cake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 58) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

One Bowl Chocolate Cake III

This quick-and-easy chocolate cake is so moist and rich.

Too Much Chocolate Cake

Too much chocolate is just enough with this moist, prize-winning cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States