Chocolate Cherry Upside Down Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2014
Made it exactly as specified, and topped with homemade whipped cream. This is now the family Black Forest Cake. Top marks for simplicity without relying on boxed cake mix. A winner! Thank you Janice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2014
This was EXCELLENT and easy :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jamie chapman

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Sarah Hoover
Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2014
Fantastic! I used bing cherries since that's what I had. Didn't have much trouble getting it out of the pan... Just one messy spot but who cares? Looks delicious and is very moist. Yum!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Hoover

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tillsonburg, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Kitchener, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2013
The flavor of this cake was slightly bland and the texture a bit crumbly. Awkward to eat, since it fell apart so easily. With a little tweaking, could be great for vegans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2013
This was easy and tastes pretty yummy. The cake is a bit strange not what I would think of for cake but still very moist and rich. I had to bake mine maybe an extra ten minutes as it didn't set in 35 minutes but closer to maybe 45 minutes. I think next time I might add some extra cherries to the pie filling as mine seemed lacking in cherries but might just be the brand of pie filling I used.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by coleebear

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sykesville, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2012
I'll be honest, I was prepared to not like this recipe. I'm not the biggest fan of cherrie pie which left me with reservations about using a cherry pie filling (especially one that comes out of a can!). In addition to that, I'm not vegan... in fact I LOVE butter, cream, cheese, meat, etc. etc. So I remained skeptical about the positive reviews assuming that most of the reviewers do not eat such animal products and may have a skewed view. Like when me vegan friends tell me their tofurkey tastes like real meat... no it doesn't. That being said, I tried this recipe anyway for my non-dairy and egg eating friend whose birthday it was. And I'm happy to say that I was definitely proved wrong! The cake was so moist and decadent, and the cherry topping was the perfect compliment. I took the advice of several others and added some vegan chocolate chips which brought the cake to a whole new level of deliciousness. It was a big hit all around!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2012
Made it for a baby shower, where the mother was severely allergic to milk. She loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2012
Cake was easy to make but a little heavy on the chocolate, if that's possible! The crowd seemed to like it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2012
This cake was moist and very good I made it for work and there was none left. I think I will Make this for my daughter, She is allergic to dairy, I am more than sure she will love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2012
This was really good. I only had 1 cup of white flour left so I used that plus 1.25 cups of whole wheat flour. And instead of making it in a 9 x 13 pan, I used two round 9" pans. In between the layers I put Cool Whip Lite. And served with more of the cool whip. The result was that it looked really pretty and it tasted very similar to a Tastykake chocolate creamie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Wilmington, Delaware, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 56) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

One Bowl Chocolate Cake III

This quick-and-easy chocolate cake is so moist and rich.

Too Much Chocolate Cake

Too much chocolate is just enough with this moist, prize-winning cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States