Chocolate Cherry Drops Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2001
These were delicious. However, I found that I had to add a second egg. I made one batch that tasted great, but the cookies fell to pieces. I had enough of the ingredients so I tried a second batch. I usually use large eggs, but I think that I had borrowed a medium sized ones for the first batch. If you are not using large (or better yet jumbo) eggs, you might want to use 2.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2007
Excellent cookies. I made these for the second time and they were a big hit. Followed the recipe as written, except I added 1 cup of semisweet chocolate chips and about 2 tablespoons of cherry juice. Drizzled them with melted white chocolate after cooling for a beautiful presentation. Yum!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookinBug
Home Town: Ithaca, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Lisa Marie Harman
Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2005
Substituted dry cherries- worked well. They do NOT flatten out, so how you form them is how they will appear. Pretty tasty- would be best with some semi-sweet chocolate chips.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa Marie Harman

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2003
I loved these, I baked all during the holidays and these were always on my list. I bought the colossal size cherries from SAM'S and COSTCO and cut them in half and placed them on the cookie before baking, it was wonderful the cherries candied during the baking. i also am a presentation freak so i melted some white chocolate put in in one of those ketchup/mustard squeeze containers and drizzled it oner the tops of these cookies, the red, white, and chocolate looked fab. I Have found I needed to add more flour to the recipe to make the dough less sticky.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: El Paso, Texas, USA
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Gracey
Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2008
This recipe is easy to prepare and handle, and the cookies are delicious! However, I found that the cherry taste wasn't strong enough, and was overpowered by chocolate. I don't think that the maraschino quantity is wrong - they are just the right amount. But maybe a recipe that used fresh cherries would be more fruity and more to my liking... * UPDATE: I tried them the next day, and they were MUCH better! The 2 flavours were much more balanced. So, I change my rating to 5 stars. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2007
These are fantastic, so soft, chewy and chocolaty! I have made these twice, each time with a few slight changes. First time: I substituted 1/4 c. wheat flour (which couldn't be tasted - I might try using 1/2 c.); cut back the butter to 1 stick (might cut back 2 more Tbsp next time); cut the sugar to 3/4 c.; and omitted the nuts (personal preference). I also only used 3/4 cup cherries because that's what I got out of a 10 oz. jar, but the boyfriend thought this ended up being the perfect amount of cherries. Second time: Used all white flour (didn't have wheat on hand), same amount of cherries as last time, 1 stick butter (forgot to cut back as planned), only 2/3 c. sugar, 8 Tbsp cocoa and no nuts. I think next time I will use 3/4 c. sugar and 8 Tbsp cocoa. I also might try adding 1 c. semi-sweet chocolate chips (although these are great without them). These would also be good sprinkled with powdered sugar. I got 35 cookies using my little cookie scoop (sorry, not sure what size it is).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2006
I made these for my office cookie swap and based on some of the reviews, I used dried cherries and added white chocolate chips. They were good, but not the "wow" I was hoping for. They didn't have a strong chocolate taste or much cherry flavor. The cookie did stay nice and chewey which I love, so I might try them again with marachino cherries and no white chips!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kingston, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2006
These cookies are fantastic! I used cherry flavored "Craisins" and 1/2 cup white chocolate chips, and the turned out great. Do NOT use 2 eggs as a previous reviewer suggested...I tried this the first time I made them, and they went totally flat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2013
Five stars on ease to make, I loved the flavor. I really am ecstatic that I found a use for the random odds and ends I tend to have to toss out like the cocoa powder and cherries. These are a wonderful idea if you need something quick, tasty, and unique.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Timberweave

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oak Harbor, Washington, USA
Living In: Platte City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2012
Delicious! I do prefer it with dried cherries. It adds a nice tart flavor that I love.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 29) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Cinnamon Chocolate Chip Cookies

See how to make chocolate chip cookies with some cinnamon snap.

No Cholesterol Chocolate Chip Cookies

These amazing cookies are good for the heart AND for the taste buds.

How to Make Chocolate Macarons

See how to make little meringue sandwiches with a ganache filling.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States