Chocolate Cherry Cake with Rum Ganache Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by lace
Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2011
I thought this was a really good cake and that was before any topping. I Love chocolate and cherry together! Since I was unable to taste the full size cake, I made myself a cupcake size... the cake was fluffier that I expected. Changes - I folded in the cherries with the chocolate chips. I also used the Satiny Chocolate Glaze recipe on this site (replacing vanilla w/ 1 tsp rum extract) instead of the ganache simply b/c I knew it would dry semi-hard and I needed that for wrapping it up for travel. I would love to try the ganache next time. Will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lace

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mobile, Alabama, USA
Living In: Birmingham, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by XONORA5
Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2011
Wonderful cake, but I did make changes as I lacked some of the ingredients. Rather than lemonade, I used cherry crystal light tubs (think it gave it the red coloring), and used chips for the chocolate bar. I also had no almond flavor so used vanilla. And finally, I used a simple chocolate glaze as "frosting" and omitted rum. Made for hubby's work party and they are picky, so glad when he came with the empty holder! Will make again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by XONORA5

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2010
This cake turned out gummy had to rebake it, didn't help and it was very heavy. never had a cake turn out bad on me before.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2010
I have made this cake twice...both time with rave reviews! The first was exactally as the recipe. This last time I used half semi-sweet and half bitter-sweet chocolate for the ganache and substituted Kirsh for the rum. I poured 2 layers of it over the cake and then drizzled with whisps of white chocolate. Topped with a few well-drained stem-on cherries, it looks professional and tastes WAY better! Only draw back is...there are no crumbs to bring home!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2009
I didn't like the ganache. It didn't do nothing for the cake. I will use sweeter chocolate chips next time. The cake was alright.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Armywife

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2009
From reading the directions, it doesn't look layered as the description describes, but definetly looks good either way. Will be giving this a try probably for christmas this year
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SunnyByrd
Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2009
Excellent! I made this cake as written, except used mini chips instead of the chopped chocolate inside the cake and use rum flavoring instead of rum for the ganache. Mine did not turn at all red like the photo, so I'm thinking there was some food coloring used there. I made this for my husband to take to work - and it was almost gone by 11am. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SunnyByrd
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2009
Love,Love,Love this cake! I'm making a few this weekend for friends. This time I'm going to stir in the cherries by hand. The mixer chopped them up. Thanks for the best cake EVER!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2008
I made this cake to take to a Christmas Eve party. Everyone loved it! The cake itself is super moist and flavorful. I only gave it four stars because I felt that the ganache was a little heavy, and if you're not careful it will pool around the bottom of the cake. But overall it is a crowd pleaser.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rebecca Madden

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chocolate Lava Cake

Make rich and impressive single-serving chocolate cakes.

Chocolate Chip Cookie Dough Cupcake

See how to make the best cupcake ever!

Chocolate Cake in a Slow Cooker

Bake a cake in the slow cooker? You bet!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States