Chocolate Cherry Cake III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 31, 2015
Delicious. If you are using organic eggs, such as EggLand's best, you need to add an extra egg. I did and the cake was perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2015
Yum made in a cake pop pan and covered in the ganache is really tasty
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lydian Holt

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2015
Wonderful! only bad thing is I can't leave it alone! I also used a tsp. almond extract in the milk for the frosting. Enjoy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2015
This is a great recipe and a family favorite as written, however if you want it to send your family over the moon I suggest you use 4 eggs, a chocolate cake mix and bake it the day before and wrap it with plastic wrap and put in the fridge. DO NOT SKIP THE ALMOND EXTRACT!! It is a perfect addition! The icing the same day you are eating. I do have trouble with the icing. If I follow as written it ends up crystalizing. I have to make sure the milk/sugar/butter mixture cools quite a bit before adding the chocolate chips. No one knows the cake is from a box!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2014
This is the bars version so it is drier than a cake. For the cake version, I add 3 eggs, 1 stick soften butter, and I also take the cherries out and just use the liquid until blended well. I then fold the cherries in so they aren't broken up. The pie filling companies aren't putting many cherries in the can any more. I've been making the cake version for over 25 years now. It is what we prefer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joanne Littleton

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Trenton, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2014
Everyone I have ever made this for loves this cake. I prefer to use a regular chocolate or fudge chocolate cake mix instead of the devils food mix though. I microwave the chocolate chips for the frosting/ganache for 1 minute to make it easier to mix them in.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2014
yummy yummy yummy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by leeann

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by aalexander621
Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2014
I work in a retirement home I am a chef there so I made a large sheet pan of this for the residents for dinner
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2014
The cake was delicious! The icing, too much chocolate for me. I will make it again and dust it with powdered sugar. I think then it will be 5 stars!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2013
very moist
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kattrina Gagne

Displaying results 1-10 (of 227) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

One Bowl Chocolate Cake III

This quick-and-easy chocolate cake is so moist and rich.

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

Too Much Chocolate Cake

Too much chocolate is just enough with this moist, prize-winning cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States