Chocolate Cherry Cake III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2008
I have made this cake many times for almost 25 years! This is incredibly moist with the perfect chocolate icing. When I'm asked to bring something for a large gathering, I often bring this, baked into bars. Bake in a 15x10" pan, about 20-30 minutes. It's easier to serve this way, and goes further too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
113 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Photo by copetenn
Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2009
Have been wowing people with this cake for 15+ years. I have always used: chocolate fudge cake mix instead of devil's, 4 eggs instead of two and boil the icing base for 1 minute instead of two. TIP to make super MOIST: after boiling icing base and adding chocolate chips, I pour the icing mixture over cake when chips are 1/2 to 3/4 melted (instead of smooth). This allows some of the milk/sugar/butter to seep down into the cake, and also leaves small morsels of chocolate chips in the icing on top. Super easy to make, knock your socks off taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
95 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by copetenn

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Coppell, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2006
I used a bundt pan and this cake came out great. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
59 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Sumchelle
Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2008
The cake alone is worthy of many, many more stars. (I did add about 1/4 cup of oil to the batter). Rich, moist and a nice mild cherry flavor. Mmmm. The frosting, however, wasn't the greatest match for this wonderful cake. Too sweet and distracting. After making it again, you absolutely must use the SATINY CHOCOLATE GLAZE recipe instead. Mr. "I don't like cherries" has already requested a third round with this cake...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2008
Absolutely fantastic. Most importantly, it does not taste like a packaged cake. It's absolutely delicious --- moist, flavorful, festive but still simple. I baked it in a 10" Bundt pan for about 40 mns and it came out perfect. The almond extract makes a big difference, so do not skip or substitute it. I suggest following the recipe exactly as is. The frosting is fudgy and fabulous. The cherry flavor is subtle, but still definitely there. The whole thing is much better the next day, however. You might not be that excited about it if you eat it when it's just out of the oven. Make the cake, pour the frosting on it per directions, and serve it the next day. It's a major hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2002
Best cake I ever made. I used a dark chocolate with pudding in cake mix. You must use receipe frosting as it makes the cake. Family loves it! A receipe to never forget.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2008
Have made this recipe many times because I am a chocolate cherry lover. The recipe is a good place to start, but I have experimented with it since i have made it so many times. Cake texture is MUCH better if you mix the wet ingredients together first (including your cherry pie filling), and also add 1/3 cup water and 1/3 cup oil to those ingredients. Then mix in your cake mix. Also, instead of using the frosting recipe, I fold in dried cherries and chocolate chips to the batter, then bake, and serve the cake alone. The dried cherries and chocolate chips definitely give the flavor of the cake a big boost!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2011
Delicious cake. Used recipe as written and wouldn't change a thing.A must try for you chocolate cherry lovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Eugene, Oregon, USA
Living In: Springfield, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2002
Mmmm. Very yummy. It was so moist and the cherry gave it just enough flavor. I sprinkled a little powder sugar over the top and it looked so elegant. My guests raved, and I couldn't keep my own hands off it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2002
This cake was excellent! I substituted vanilla for the almond extract. It was a cinch to prepare and the icing was the perfect finishing touch. It was very moist and the frosting was not too rich and didn't get hard or crusty as some frostings do. I will definately be making this again. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 226) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

One Bowl Chocolate Cake III

This quick-and-easy chocolate cake is so moist and rich.

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

Too Much Chocolate Cake

Too much chocolate is just enough with this moist, prize-winning cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States