Chocolate Cherry Cake III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: May 27, 2009
MMmm. The frosting is the best!!! You must use the frosting. I am only giving 4 stars because I couldn't taste the almond extract in it. Maybe I didn't use enough? Next time I will try it with more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by smurfette

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Madison, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2009
I wish I would have read the recipe description a little closer! I didn't realize this recipe is for a sheet cake, and when I went to "pour" the batter into the pan, I had to spoon it in. I was very disappointed, and came back to read reviews. I took other suggestions and added 1/4 cup oil and 1/4 cup water. It turned out more cakelike and less dense. I took a shortcut and just used canned chocolate fudge icing. This cake is a keeper now!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs Harte

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Henley, Missouri, USA
Living In: Fenton, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2009
YUM! Got great reviews for this cake. The only change I made was to add one teaspoon of veggie oil to the batter because it seemed a little too thick to me, and other reviewers had mentioned doing so. The frosting, which was delish, was a little gritty, but no one complained because it was so darned good. I will take more time next time to disolve the sugar better, maybe use a double boiler? It was so easy and good, it will be a staple for me. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jana Gunn
Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2009
I loved the simple recipe! I used 3 eggs (because I read that someone used 4) and it took a bit longer because I used a 9" circle pan- but it worked well and took about 45/50 minutes. I got antsy and poured the frosting on before the cake cooled, but I think it'll be okay. I decorated with maraschino cherries and chocolate chips and some powdered sugar. Yay cake-making!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2009
Sooo Easy and soooo delicious!! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2009
I love this cake and have been eating it since I was a kiddo. I bake it in a 9x13 cake pan and add chocolate pudding to the top instead of frosting, by refridgerating this cake with the pudding, it makes it unbelievably moist and very yum, yummy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Steph

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Worth, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2009
Love this cake! The last time I made this,I made some changes-went to a bundt pan, but the center piece was missing, so had to keep checking for doneness & adding time. Ran out of almond flavoring so used pecan flavoring. Forgot to add the chip to the batter,so pulled it out after 4 minutes & stirred them in. Despite all this it turned out great & was a hit at the party I took it to. The frosting is sweet, but made a lovely drape down the sides of the cake, texture was fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by goodeats

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sacramento, California, USA
Living In: Kingman, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Becca
Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2009
Used a Bundt pan and drizzled the icing over the cake. It turned out wonderfully, and it went just oh-so-quickly. I will make this again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Becca

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sugar Land, Texas, USA
Living In: College Station, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2009
Very moist and delicious, although I would prefer to make it from scratch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jaclynn G

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Perry Hall, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2009
What a great and easy recipe! My husband devoured it! Thanks for the recipe, Jan!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs. Snell

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Findley Lake, New York, USA
Living In: Tionesta, Pennsylvania, USA

Displaying results 81-90 (of 227) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

One Bowl Chocolate Cake III

This quick-and-easy chocolate cake is so moist and rich.

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

Too Much Chocolate Cake

Too much chocolate is just enough with this moist, prize-winning cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States