Chocolate Cherry Cake III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2009
Amazing. I normally am the baker but do not eat alot of what I make. I had two pieces and wanted more. Thank you. This will definitely be something I make frequently. The frosting is a must.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2009
This is exactly Chocolate Cherry Cake II. I took "MELLO 57" suggestion and blended the pie filling, eggs & extract in the blender first. Actually I only had 1 egg so for the other egg I used 2 Tbsp water, 1 Tbsp oil & 2 tsp baking powder and it worked great. I also added 1/2 c applesauce and 1 c flour-coated semi-sweet chocolate chips to the batter. I baked it in a 9X13 pyrex dish for 35 minutes. Wow! This is the most moist cake I've ever had -and I've had a lot! I didn't make the frosting because I added the chocolate chips to the batter and I figured I'd just dust a little powdered sugar on top. At the last minute, my mom twisted my arm and said to put frosting so I cheated and warmed up 1/2 a store bought chocolate frosting in the microwave and poured it on top. This is very, very rich so you must be a chocoholic to enjoy this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 6MOUTHS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2009
I had my doubts when I saw how simple this recipe is, but WOW. I'm glad I tried it. Followed directions exactly, except added 2 Tbsp. maraschino cherry juice to the icing after removing from heat. Scrumptious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jackie

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Acworth, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2009
The frosting made it super sweet. My husband liked it better with the frosting scraped off however, he did say the frosting added something to it that it was missing. These were very dense - brownie like in texture. The cake had a nice flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: New Boston, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2009
This is one of the first recipes I learned to make as a teenager. It is so good, and I make it for every work/friend/church gathering I'm invited to! It always gets rave reviews. It is so easy! They only thing I do differently is add more chocolate chips in the icing. I add 1 whole bag, and it makes the icing almost like fudge. SO GOOD! I am a chocolate lover, and this cake never fails. It's best when it's cold and has been in the fridge for a day or two.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CapitolCowgirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Washington, D.C., USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2009
MMmm. The frosting is the best!!! You must use the frosting. I am only giving 4 stars because I couldn't taste the almond extract in it. Maybe I didn't use enough? Next time I will try it with more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by smurfette

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Madison, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2009
I wish I would have read the recipe description a little closer! I didn't realize this recipe is for a sheet cake, and when I went to "pour" the batter into the pan, I had to spoon it in. I was very disappointed, and came back to read reviews. I took other suggestions and added 1/4 cup oil and 1/4 cup water. It turned out more cakelike and less dense. I took a shortcut and just used canned chocolate fudge icing. This cake is a keeper now!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs Harte

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Henley, Missouri, USA
Living In: Fenton, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2009
YUM! Got great reviews for this cake. The only change I made was to add one teaspoon of veggie oil to the batter because it seemed a little too thick to me, and other reviewers had mentioned doing so. The frosting, which was delish, was a little gritty, but no one complained because it was so darned good. I will take more time next time to disolve the sugar better, maybe use a double boiler? It was so easy and good, it will be a staple for me. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2009
I loved the simple recipe! I used 3 eggs (because I read that someone used 4) and it took a bit longer because I used a 9" circle pan- but it worked well and took about 45/50 minutes. I got antsy and poured the frosting on before the cake cooled, but I think it'll be okay. I decorated with maraschino cherries and chocolate chips and some powdered sugar. Yay cake-making!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2009
Sooo Easy and soooo delicious!! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 222) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

One Bowl Chocolate Cake III

This quick-and-easy chocolate cake is so moist and rich.

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

Too Much Chocolate Cake

Too much chocolate is just enough with this moist, prize-winning cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States