Chocolate Cherry Cake III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2010
After reading all the rave reviews on this cake, I couldn't wait to make it. I followed the recipe exactly and was so disappointed. Not enough cherries to even taste them, cake was much too dry and there was way too much overly-sweet icing. I left my cake in the 9X13 pan and iced it so I should have halved the icing recipe. That would have been plenty. I don't think I'll be making this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2010
This cake was moist and had a great taste! My dad is a chocolate covered cherry fan and I made this for his birthday. He loved it! I don't really care for a pronounced almond taste in this cake. I reduced the almond extract to 1/2 teaspoon and I could still taste it just fine! Hope this helps!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Salem, Illinois, USA
Living In: Edwardsville, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2010
I made this and it was really easy to make and really yummy to eat. I made it into muffins though. I didn't make or use the icing, I left them plain Next time I am thinking of trying this recipe using a butter pecan cake mix and apple pie filling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2010
OK - we were FIGHTING over this cake. I served it to at a small dinner with friends and my family fought over the leftovers for the rest of the week (actually it didnt last that long). It is soo good and yet so stupidly easy! The frosting is wonderful - I've made it since - I put it on brownies, but it belongs on this cake - no comparison.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2010
My review was completely changed without any warning, so I'll just make it short and say that this recipe, as is, is very disappointing. Make the changes suggested by past reviewers and it'll come out a lot better. Made as directed it just tastes like chocolate cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by monty

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Tallahassee, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2010
LOVED IT! This one will definitely stay in my recipe box. Having said that I don't like cake mixes but I like this recipe. I suggest to anyone trying this for the first time that you don't change a thing. I used Duncan Hines Devils food cake mix as suggested. this cake comes together so quickly and easily which is icing on the cake so to speak.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by saundra

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA
Living In: Noblesville, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2010
Fool proof. I highly recommend it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2010
I loved the frosting. The cake was good, not my absolute favorite, but good. I love how easy it is to whip up. I think I'd add a little less almond next time, I found that flavor a little too overwhelming. I wonder if this recipe would work with other flavors of cake and pie fillings? Might be worth a try...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2010
I've made this cake a few times and it is WONDERFUL! I put a little rum extract in the cake and when I make the frosting I use a little more rum extract and some vanilla extract (about 1/2 tsp each). Be careful when serving to men-it goes VERY quickly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2010
This was very good. I made a trial one for a Valentine Party on Friday and my family adored it. Loved, loved, loved the flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dawn

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 226) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

One Bowl Chocolate Cake III

This quick-and-easy chocolate cake is so moist and rich.

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

Too Much Chocolate Cake

Too much chocolate is just enough with this moist, prize-winning cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States