Chocolate Cherry Cake III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2010
Oops! I inadvertently added all the ingredients together before reading that part of it was for the frosting. So, I thought, might as well bake it and see what happens. I had to bake it longer. I took it out when the edges of the cake pulled away from the sides of the 9 x 13 pan (probably another 20 minutes). Very very rich. It is delicious. I like tasting the chocolate chips in the cake. Tastes better the next day after cooling. I put it in the refrigerator to chill. I had a piece of cake for breakfast with a hot cup of coffee. What a way to start the day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2010
What a delicious, beautiful, and super simple cake! I used a lower sugar version of the pie filling, 3/4 cup sugar, 3 T butter, and 1/2 t. extract. It turned out so well and tasted great right after cooling, Can't imagine it could taste even better the next day, but that will certainly be something to look forward to! Baked about 40 min in a Bundt pan. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2010
This was fantastic! I am not sure what would make it a perfect 5 star recipe, but it is definitely something I will make again. Maybe if it was entirely homemade or if it had some butter to give it a little more richness/depth? I agree with the other reviewer that said that the almond extract should not be omitted (even though it is $6 something for a little bottle). I debated leaving it out, but glad I included it. I made it in a bundt pan and think it ended up cooking for closer to 40 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2010
We loved this! It was so yummy. I made just like it said but used a can of no sugar added cherry pie filling & reduced sugar chocolate cake mix with Splenda (trying to cut back on white sugar) and also when I made the icing I used 1/2 cup Splenda in place of the full cup of sugar and it was fine! I also reduced the butter to 3 tbsp. I also added a bit more almond flavoring. My mother who doesn't like ANYTHING lowcal or low sugar thought this was yummy too! This is so moist and delicious! Try it you'll love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2010
I made this cake as written and found it a little dry. Made it again and added 1 Tlb of oil and it is great. Moist and yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2010
I made this cake for my brother, whose favorite snack is chocolate covered cherries. He LOVED it. I only used about 2/3 of the sugar for the frosting, and it came out perfectly sweet. The can of cherries adds just an undertone of cherry flavor, and so I added some cored and chopped cherries on top of the cake. It was a total hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2010
This is a very easy cake to make and take along to potlucks, etc. My crew gave it a 4 - and I agree.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2010
I hated to rate this so low but I didnt really care for it. Didnt like the flavor and it was too moist. I dont know what I was expecting but this wasnt it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kelcooking1

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2010
After reading all the rave reviews on this cake, I couldn't wait to make it. I followed the recipe exactly and was so disappointed. Not enough cherries to even taste them, cake was much too dry and there was way too much overly-sweet icing. I left my cake in the 9X13 pan and iced it so I should have halved the icing recipe. That would have been plenty. I don't think I'll be making this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2010
This cake was moist and had a great taste! My dad is a chocolate covered cherry fan and I made this for his birthday. He loved it! I don't really care for a pronounced almond taste in this cake. I reduced the almond extract to 1/2 teaspoon and I could still taste it just fine! Hope this helps!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Salem, Illinois, USA
Living In: Edwardsville, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 224) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

One Bowl Chocolate Cake III

This quick-and-easy chocolate cake is so moist and rich.

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

Too Much Chocolate Cake

Too much chocolate is just enough with this moist, prize-winning cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States