Chocolate Cherry Cake III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2011
Love it, love it! I could of eaten the whole thing all by myself, but I had to share it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2011
Made this with my 10 yr old chocoholic grand-daughter and she (and the rest of the family) absolutely loved it!!!! It's also good baked in a cookie sheet (if making for a potluck or wanting a thinner cake) and I want to try putting in mini-muffin tins for a bite full of wonderfulness!) We made the frosting listed in this recipe. We thought it was going to be too sweet and considered using less sugar but went with the recipe and it was just perfect! Thank you, Jan, for a moist, easy, cake recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by katieo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Grafton, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2011
Very nice, simple to make, moist cake. I think it is much prettier in a bundt pan; however, if you do put it in a bundt pan, bake for approximately 50 minutes. This cake cuts beautifully even if it is warm! I made this cake for a friend who had left shoulder surgery and her husband who had broken his left shoulder! I figured something chocolate would hit the spot, and I think this one did! I just dripped the icing and only used half of that called for. Also, I used reduced sugar cherry pie filling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Steelville, Missouri, USA
Living In: Charleston, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2011
Good, easy, satisfying recipe. I make these on a sheet pan and serve as bars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RayColsOh

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2011
this was good i didnt have chocolate cake mix the store was out so i used whit it turned out to be a cherry cake it was good the iceing was very rich but good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jennyspelts

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Liberty, Kentucky, USA
Photo by TheBritishBaker
Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2011
Very easy cake to make, I did not make the frosting as its for my son to take to work tomorrow. I did only get to taste a very small slice, but I thought it was a great tasting moist cake. I think you could use use this recipe as a base for a great tasting black cherry Gateau.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TheBritishBaker

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bakewell, Derbyshire, England, U.K.
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2011
I have made this cake for over 7 years now with almost exact ingredients (3 eggs instead of 2). It has been an all-star favorite at EVERY potluck or dinner I have taken it to. Everybody asks for the recipe! The cherries are to make the cake moist, not to totally flavor it...it's a subtle taste. You can also find the recipe in the original Cake Doctor cookbook.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2011
This is the perfect solution to something more than chocolate from a box and is fast & EASY! The chocolate glaze reminds me of a Texas sheet cake& the cherries make for a very moist cake!! Definitely worth keeping ingredients stocked in pantry for the times I need a "nice" dessert & fast!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2011
Delicious cake. Used recipe as written and wouldn't change a thing.A must try for you chocolate cherry lovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Eugene, Oregon, USA
Living In: Springfield, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2011
Awesome cake, very moist. I also used vanilla because we did not have almond and turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 227) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

One Bowl Chocolate Cake III

This quick-and-easy chocolate cake is so moist and rich.

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

Too Much Chocolate Cake

Too much chocolate is just enough with this moist, prize-winning cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States