Chocolate Cherry Cake III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2011
this is excellent, but as written, the icing winds up cracking and gets a very stiff outer coat that breaks apart when you cut it. Otherwise it is yummy and so easy. I will try boiling the icing a little bit less next time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by fourpiesmama

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Alpharetta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2011
Very good and so easy. I think this will be my new way of making cakes... box cake + pie filling! I wonder what vanilla cake with lemon filling would taste like... :P
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenny

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sauble Beach, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2011
supermoist cake. everyone loved it! will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2011
This is my favorite cake of all time! My grandma made this same recipe for years.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chelsieh

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2011
The cherries keep things moist and the frosting is amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2011
Great easy recipe! Made in a bundt pan. As another reviewer said "fold in the pie filling". This was good the first day and wonderful after it sat in the fridge overnight! Sitting made the chocolate icing absorb into the cake and was much more moist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Irving, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2011
Love it, love it! I could of eaten the whole thing all by myself, but I had to share it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2011
Made this with my 10 yr old chocoholic grand-daughter and she (and the rest of the family) absolutely loved it!!!! It's also good baked in a cookie sheet (if making for a potluck or wanting a thinner cake) and I want to try putting in mini-muffin tins for a bite full of wonderfulness!) We made the frosting listed in this recipe. We thought it was going to be too sweet and considered using less sugar but went with the recipe and it was just perfect! Thank you, Jan, for a moist, easy, cake recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by katieo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Grafton, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2011
Very nice, simple to make, moist cake. I think it is much prettier in a bundt pan; however, if you do put it in a bundt pan, bake for approximately 50 minutes. This cake cuts beautifully even if it is warm! I made this cake for a friend who had left shoulder surgery and her husband who had broken his left shoulder! I figured something chocolate would hit the spot, and I think this one did! I just dripped the icing and only used half of that called for. Also, I used reduced sugar cherry pie filling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Steelville, Missouri, USA
Living In: Charleston, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2011
Good, easy, satisfying recipe. I make these on a sheet pan and serve as bars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RayColsOh

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 223) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

One Bowl Chocolate Cake III

This quick-and-easy chocolate cake is so moist and rich.

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

Too Much Chocolate Cake

Too much chocolate is just enough with this moist, prize-winning cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States