Chocolate Cherry Cake III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2012
After reading the recipe several times and looking at my dried mess in my bowl I decided to follow the cake directions and add the liquid since these directions just said add cherries and eggs....otherwise this would have been a 5 star dessert. IT was delish and the chocolate topping is a must. I did poke holes in the cake before adding frosting and WOW
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sonya

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Living In: Gardnerville, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2012
I thought I was going to love this, but it was really just a case of like. I made in a bundt pan and baked for 40 minutes. I opted to add a 3rd egg so that it would be dense. The chocolate flavor was good but the cherry flavor is only subtle. I made this cake 1 day ahead and it was cold out of the fridge when it was served, perhaps it would have more flavor closer to room temperature. It made a nice chocolate cake, but doesn't warrant a 5 star rating as I had hoped.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RAISIN1

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2012
The first cake I ever baked, and wow it was good! I'll definitely be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2012
I have yet to make this; I just found the recipe this evening, but when I do, I think that I will simplify it even further by just making ganache and pouring it over while warm. (Equal ounces of cream and chopped bittersweet chocolate. Bring cream to the boil, add chocolate and stir until melted--dark chocolate deliciousness that tastes like flourless chocolate cake.) I usually make ganache using 16 oz. cream and 16 oz. dark or bittersweet chocolate. I use ganache to dip cupcakes or pour over a regular cake (easiest frosting ever) It then makes a beautiful canvas to add piped flowers, etc. Any remaining, I put in the refrigerator to solidify then cube. I have lots of very fudgy squares that last for quite a while. I've been able to go a three weeks with great willpower. I don't like regular fudge--too grainy and sweet, but I LOVE this. I don't like my chocolate too sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by sweetserenade
Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2012
This recipe is perfect. I made a chocolate ganache with the chips and created individual little well cakes. Happy Valentines Day all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sweetserenade
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA
Photo by Jessica
Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2012
I cooked this last night for my parents and my children. I must say it is the best thing I have ever baked! I don't think any chocolate cake will ever live up to this... Loved IT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2012
Ummm.... YUM! Tastes like a Chocolate Covered Cherry, was so hard not to take another piece! Excellent recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2012
I have never rated any recipe on this site before, but I need to tell all that this is amazing and very rich cake possibly the best if had. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2011
Wish I could give this 100 stars. Melt in your mouth moist. I microvave store bought chocolate frosting for 35 seconds. Stir and pour 1/2 container over cake. then you can sprinkle with nuts or choclate chips. Saves time and looks beautiful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jasgirl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sacramento, California, USA
Living In: Mount Vernon, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2011
I used 3 eggs because my eggs were kind of small. Other than that I followed the directions, baked for 30 minutes and poured the icing on a few minutes after it was done. Wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 227) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

One Bowl Chocolate Cake III

This quick-and-easy chocolate cake is so moist and rich.

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

Too Much Chocolate Cake

Too much chocolate is just enough with this moist, prize-winning cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States