Chocolate Cherry Cake III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2008
great cake and super easy to make! i used this frosting and it was delicious! everyone was raving about it. i don't usually like chocolate and fruit together but this was perfect. the only change i made was to use light cherry pie filling!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by crockpotpirate

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2008
One of the best, quick and easy chocolate cakes I have ever made. Everyone raved and asked for the recipe, and requested a repeat performance. Only changes I made was to add 1/3 cup of oil. I Don't normally rate anything a 5, but this recipe is well deserving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Salina, Kansas, USA
Living In: Arlington, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2008
Super easy to make, but a little rich for my taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Clawson, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2008
I got rave reviews last week for this cake. I followed the recipe, but jazzed it up a bit for presentation. First off, instead of 9x13, I used two round 9" pans. I used the cherries from another can of pie filling (minus all the goo) between layers, then poured the icing all over the finished product. One tip: try to pour evenly and avoid smoothing the icing with a spatula--it takes away from the shiny finish. When the icing was dry and I was ready to serve, I dusted the entire cake with a mixture of cocoa powder & powdered sugar (combine 1 part powdered sugar with 3 parts cocoa powder for a bittersweet dust). It was gorgeous, moist, and everyone gobbled it up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sweetcarolinecook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ligonier, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Greensburg, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2008
For a beginner I needed to know how to test if cake is done after 25-30min. I removed it after 30 but toothpick was not clean. Shortly after that the cake sunk in the middle. I thought since this was a moist and chewy cake that maybe it would not test done prior to removal. What did I do wrong?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2008
This was very moist! Everyone loved it. I used strawberry pie filling instead and put sliced strawberries on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2008
This recipe is so easy and it turns so good. I used instead 21 onces of fresh sour cherries becuase it is its season. It turned just great! This one of my favorites now. Thanks,
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Felixa Noemi

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tegucigalpa, Francisco Morazán, Honduras
Living In: Lancaster, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2008
I make cakes for a local cafe and this gets rave reviews! I haven't made the frosting from this recipe. Shamed to say I just use the canned. I tend to put a nice raspberry jam filling in between the layers and call it Black Forest Cake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by goose1128

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Hawley, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by HotMammaChef
Reviewed: May 24, 2008
My family loved this so much and my husbands co workers! 2 days after I made it I had to make 3 more for 3 different events everyone loves it and it goes the same day it's made. Plus I found it so simple to make. I used milk chocolate frosting to top it off and it was Divine!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HotMammaChef

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Watsonville, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2008
Everyone loved this cake! The coolest part is it is a dump-cake: my toddler could have thrown the mixture together. I made the recipe as-is. I think I cooked the frosting too long, because mine turned out grainy-textured (maybe the sugar re-crystallized).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Pulaski, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 223) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

One Bowl Chocolate Cake III

This quick-and-easy chocolate cake is so moist and rich.

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

Too Much Chocolate Cake

Too much chocolate is just enough with this moist, prize-winning cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States