Chocolate Cherry Cake II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2005
Was very good, but I had two correctable problems. I agree that the frosting calls for too much white sugar. I also don't think I baked it long enough as the middle was soggy. Otherwise, very tasty and simple!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2005
I liked the cake but the frosting was gritty from the sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Providence, Rhode Island, USA
Living In: Cranston, Rhode Island, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2005
Really good cherry chocolate combo. Will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Des Moines, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2005
I made this for a co-worker's birthday. Everyone came by my desk two and three times to tell me how good it was. don't be nervous about how thick the cake mix looks. Also, I cut up maraschino cherries and place them on the top of the cake to dress it up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2005
This is definitely a two thumbs up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2005
I got a lot of great compliments on this recipe... I kept my cake in the refrigerator and the cake tastes great chilled. I would not use as much sugar as was called for, since the frosting was a little too sweet, but the cake was moist and had just enough cherry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2004
THIS RECIPE WAS REALLY GOOD, THE WHOLE FAMILE LOVED IT. BUT IT IS REALLY RICH IN TAST, NOT A BAD THING.. THANKS..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2004
I have made this recipe for at least 20 years. I came across it in a Pillsbury cookbook and it is one of my Mother's favorite chocolate cakes.I usually make mine in a bundt pan and sprinkle chopped pecans over the glaze.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2004
Execellent as an easy-to-make cake. It is moist, cherries add nice flavor, and the frosting is so easy to add on. I have made several, and they are quite popular with those I give them to.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2004
I usually bake from scratch but I thought I would give this cake a try. Wow! The combination of flavors was great. The frosting really adds to the cake, I definetly would not omit it. I'm making my husband take this to work or else I will eat every bite of it. It was hard not to go back for a second piece!! I did cook the cake for 35 minutes. The center wasn't quite done at 30. Very moist and no dry edges. Supper simple. Don't make this cake if you're watching your weight, you might not be able to controll yourself.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bobbie Jean

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Frankfort, Illinois, USA

Displaying results 51-60 (of 81) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

One Bowl Chocolate Cake III

This quick-and-easy chocolate cake is so moist and rich.

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

Too Much Chocolate Cake

Too much chocolate is just enough with this moist, prize-winning cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States