Chocolate Cherry Cake II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2009
I thought the cake was a little too sweet. I didn't make the frosting that is included with the recipe. Instead, I whipped some heavy whipping cream with a few tablespoons of powdered sugar and macadamia liquor (to taste). It was a delicious cool topping. (Make sure you let the cake cool before icing) I topped mine with shaved chocolate and toasted almonds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2009
I make this cake in a cookie sheet and bake accordingly. I've also never had any luck with the frosting listed and usually just used canned. It's a good cake tho!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by katieo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Grafton, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2008
I was also hesitant about the thickness of the batter, but the cakes were perfect. I did to 9" pans for 25 minutes. I used store bought frosting (made it too sweet) but the cake itself was delicious! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Arizona Desert Flower

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Living In: Tempe, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2008
Use 9x13 pan, double the almond extract, & frost. Just before serving top off with container of Cool Whip. Looks great, tastes great. The best.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MARMEL

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Red Deer, Alberta, Canada
Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2008
Easy and tasty... My family loves this cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susanne Brewer

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by cakebuilder
Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2008
I really loved this cake! It was so quick and easy, too, since you use a box mix (I used Betty Crocker Devil's Food mix). Each recipe fills a 10 X 2" round pan up to the top (after baking). I brought this cake to work and several people told me that it was the best cake that they ever had. I did not use the frosting recipe - I covered it in a thin layer of buttercream icing and rolled marshmallow fondant.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cakebuilder

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2008
This cake was good and my guests liked it. My husband (his birthday cake) didn't think there were enough cherries in it. I used 1/2 almond and 1/2 vanilla extracts. Put in 1/2 the cherries and mixed up, then folded in the rest. Baked in a bundt pan for about 40 minutes, let cool in the pan for about 20 minutes. Used the Satiny Chocolate glaze recipe from this site, which was very good. My friend ate all the drippage from the cake plate! Next time I think I'll put 1-1/2 cans cherry pie filling in. Good with vanilla ice cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by anne

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2007
Good cake if you're in a pinch, but I would prefer to make from scratch in the future rather than using a mix.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2007
I'm not a big fan of cake mix recipes, and this one is not different. It wasn't chocolaty enough or cherry-y enough. I read the reviews before I made it though, and if you go for it, pour the cake mix in the bowl and add the eggs and extract. Stir as well as you can. Then I stirred in half the cherries until well combined and then I folded in the remaining half. There were whole cherries in the cake when it was done, which some people wanted.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Corrielynn

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2007
I've made this a couple of times with the satiny chocolate glaze as suggested in another review. It has turned out great. I always try to mix the pie filling in last to more of the cherries intact. It's always very moist & the extract takes away the cake mix taste. It makes a pretty bundt cake decorated as pictured with cherries on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Worth, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 82) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

One Bowl Chocolate Cake III

This quick-and-easy chocolate cake is so moist and rich.

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

Too Much Chocolate Cake

Too much chocolate is just enough with this moist, prize-winning cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States