Chocolate Cherry Cake II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by M G Maul
Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2014
I made these into cup cakes instead of the regular cake or Bundt since cup cakes are so popular now. The Cup cakes were super moist and tasted like you were eating a chocolate cover cherry. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by M G Maul

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2012
This is a delicious cake, very moist and rich.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sMOEkin

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Findlay, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2012
This was delicious, and improved even more in the leftover version after being chilled for a day or two. The frosting really makes this! I forgot to add either vanilla or almond extract but it didn't seem to make a difference. I did add vanilla to the frosting, and could have eaten an entire pan of the frosting alone -- which was very similar to my grandmother's fudge. Took all of 10 minutes to throw together. This is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Elyria, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2012
I made this yesterday for a potluck and it was all gone. People loved it and said it was very most. I mixed up the cake mix with a fork so it wasn't so lumpy and added just a little cherry filling to make it moist and then folded in the rest of the cherry pie filling. I didn't have almond extract, so I used vanilla. You could see the cherries and it was delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2011
Loved this cake. So moist and yummy! Baked it in a bundt pan and followed the recipe with no changes. My frosting did turn out gritty though and I noticed a couple other reviewers had the same problem. Not sure why. I boiled it as directed. Cake was perfect though! Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2011
For the frosting: I put 1 cup of powdered sugar (not white sugar) and add 1 teaspoon almond extract to that as well... For the cake: I always add the cherries last and fold in... this is my in-laws favorite and my husbands too... got it from a friend at work!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2011
I used devils food cake mix because it was all I had and vanilla extract instead of almond. I also sifted my cake mix first to break up the clumps and beat the eggs before I added them. This was a very thick batter but it baked to a really moist cake. I can't wait to try other flavor combos!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2011
I omitted the sugar, butter, milk or chips. Save the calories. Great texture made in greased bundt pan for 45 Min with powdered sugar topping.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ECampbell

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sunnyvale, California, USA
Living In: Lolo, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2010
Another simple, yet wonderful recipe! I loved how moist & tasty this cake turned out!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Largo, Florida, USA
Living In: Prairieville, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2010
The easiest recipe I've ever made considering the rave reviews I got at the potluck I took it to tonight. Yum, yum! Luckly I didn't get asked for the recipe yet... I don't want to reveal how easy it was!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 81) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

One Bowl Chocolate Cake III

This quick-and-easy chocolate cake is so moist and rich.

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

Too Much Chocolate Cake

Too much chocolate is just enough with this moist, prize-winning cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States