Chocolate Cherry Biscotti Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2004
Biscotti is my favorite cookie to make. So easy and tasty. Plus they can be stuffed full of nutritious foods like dried fruit and nuts. You can put in as much additions that you want and any variety to make the basic dough have all kinds of delicious results.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2004
Wow! Wow! WOW! I just finished making 14 dozen of these for holiday gifts. Now, I consider myself a good cook, but far from a good baker. This was easy and unbelievably tasty! Made a few mods: I hand mixed in the flour and chips/cherries, I didn't do the final 5 minute flip/bake, and I made 7 dozen of them with cranberries (dried) and pecans (chopped) instead of the chocolate/cherry mixture. Also, instead of using the white chocolate, I drizzled vanilla almond bark (half dyed red, half dyed green) over the cooled cookies. They're so pretty! Packaged in cellophane holiday gift bags (after wrapping cookies in waxed paper) and tied with a bow. Can't say it enough how much I HIGHLY RECOMMEND this recipe! Thanks so much for sharing! My gift recipients will thank you too!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
66 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2004
These are wonderful, especially dunked in a cup of cappuccino. I used my Kitchen Aid stand mixer, and used the exact amount of flour that the recipe called for, and I too found the dough to be too sticky. What I did was spooned it onto a cookie sheet lined with parchment paper, in two long shapes. Then I floured my hands really well, and kind of formed them into the rectangles while on the parchment paper. Next time I will add more flour like others suggested. I also had a problem getting my white chocolate to drizzle. I ended up throwing my first batch of the white chocolate away, and the next time I melted it in a glass bowl over a pot of low boiling water and added a little bit (1/2 Tbls) of vegetable shortening to it. That made it easier to drizzle. After the obstacles, they turned out great, with a very good flavor. I plan to make these again and give them away as holiday gifts in little plastic holiday bags. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kim's Cooking Now!

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Little Chute, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Kennesaw, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2004
Awesome! I've made these for tons of people, and now get regular requests for both the recipe and the end product. btw, no idea where you get 'candied' cherries, but I chopped up maraschino cherries and they work great. I like my biscotti a bit softer than traditional biscotti...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2004
White chocolate would not "drizzle" so I dipped the bottoms of the cookies instead. Very tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2004
I made 3 varieties of Biscotti for Christmas this year and these were not my favorite. Taste was just OK...and they were more crumbly and more "butter cookie-like" than the others. Didn't live up to my expectations...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Carmichaels, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Suwanee, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2004
I LOVE these! I think next time I will reduce the baking powder to 1-1/2 tsp.--I think they rose and cracked a little because of the 2 tsp. Also, I substituted cherry-flavored dried cranberries as someone else suggested. And I just chopped up the white chocolate and threw it in with everything else. I reduced the temperature for the second bake to 250 degrees, and just baked them until dry. A KEEPER!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2004
To get mine golden, I had to bake longer than alloted time. The results are perfect and I have never received so many compimentes on my baking!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2003
Very good & very different. I make many different biscotti and this is one I will make over & over. I really don't even like chocolate & cherry together but was munching on these. I did make a few changes. First WHAT ARE CANDIED CHERRIES? I could not find anything actually called that in 2 stores so I used dried chopped cherries. Also I dived the dough into 3 loaves. They took 30-35 min. to cook. The cookies were 2 1/2 - 3 in. long. Nice enough size and gave me more cookies. They keep together really good when cutting too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2003
Prepared this as noted with exception I used dried cherries instead of candied. Also when I make biscotti, I like to totally dip the top in either white or dark chocolate & then take the opposite color chocolate and melt it down with a bit of oil and then take a fork and drip lines across it. Gives it an extra special appearance. With this batch, I made half the batch in dark chocolate with white stripes and the other half batch in white chocolate with dark stripes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA
Living In: Oro Valley, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 105) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

No Cholesterol Chocolate Chip Cookies

These amazing cookies are good for the heart AND for the taste buds.

How to Make Chocolate Macarons

See how to make little meringue sandwiches with a ganache filling.

White Chocolate Macadamia Cranberry Dreams

These soft buttery treats make terrific holiday cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States