Chocolate Cherry Biscotti Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2006
These were great. I made them for christmas gifts and I ended up having to give out the recipe as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by saradipity

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2006
I used Cranraisins instead of dried cherries because they didn't carry them at the supermarket closest to my house. My husband said these were his favorite, I thought they were a little dry. But, he loved them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michele C.

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2006
This was wonderful but I had a trouble with it not gettin done. I think my oven temp is off. Anyway, other than it being a bit crumbly it was really good. It got gobbled up when I took it to our family Christmas gatherings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jacksonville, Florida, USA
Living In: Cumming, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2006
These were difficult to work with -- even with a serrated bread knife. They crumble and consequently, they're hard to do at a full 10" size. Nevertheless, they look lovely and people love receiving them as a gift. They are softer than other recipes because of their butter. If you prefer a firmer, crispier biscotti for dunking, look for recipes where egg is the only fat in the ingredients list. As for candied cherries, those are the little syrupy cherries that are sold in small, round tubs. They're usually with the seasonal baking stuff--you would find them wherever you find those tubs of chopped fruit that people use in fruitcakes. The only difference is that the fruitcake mix is multicolored and includes pineapple and candied citrus peel (which I never liked as a kid). But basically, it's the same thing. You could probably get away with using marachino cherries, but the candied cherries are "waxier" and have less moisture. However, they are brighter and moister than dried cherries/cranberries. The chocolate and cherries make this recipes pricey to pull off--but like I said, it looks great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2005
Good biscotti cookie..I even added 1cup instead of a 1/2 cup of choc chips(wasn't paying attention) and I used dried cherries instead of candied cherries. I think I would like to try the candied cherries if I can find them beacuse I think that would be a sweeter cherry flavor. My second bake I stood cookies up and only baked for 5minutes. Very good..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brewster, New York, USA
Living In: Dover, New York, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2005
These look beautiful and tasted even better. Could not have been easier to make. I did use vanilla rather than almond extract but they were still very flavorful. I dipped the bottom in white chocolate and put them in the freezer. Can't wait to bring them to Christmas dinner! Thanks for sharing Jennifer!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Conshohocken, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Harleysville, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2005
The absolute best!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2005
These are soooo good! Sometimes for Christmas I substitute peppermint extract for the almond, and it gives these biscotti a nice flavor. Makes them especially good with hot cocoa!! I make these every year for Christmas gatherings & gifts and they are always well-received. Thanks for a wonderful recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jrbaker

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2005
Used dried cherries instead of candied. I wraped the dough in plastic and chilled.Shapeing the dough into logs while still in the plastic made it simple and had no mess. Stood cookies upright for second baking and reduced cooking time in half, works great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
62 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2005
This was really good..instead of candied cherries I used marric. cherries..it was just awsome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 110) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Chocolate Macarons

See how to make little meringue sandwiches with a ganache filling.

Cinnamon Chocolate Chip Cookies

See how to make chocolate chip cookies with some cinnamon snap.

Jumbo Dark Chocolate Cookies

These dark chocolate cookies will double your chocolate delight.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States