Chocolate Cherry Biscotti Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2011
I gave this as a gift with white chocolate and dark chocolate drizzled all over. Both recipients were amazed and very pleased by the flavor and appearance of this wonderful treat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2011
This is an awesome recipe...it stays forever! I make this every Christmas and it has become a tradition in my family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2010
I loved this biscotti recipe. The texture was just like I want...not hard as a brick, and doesn't fall apart in my coffee. The cherry/chocolate combination is always delicious, but I'm sure I'll make it again with other ingredients for a change. I gave some away as gifts and kept the rest for myself. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BEV

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Springfield, Ohio, USA
Living In: London, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2010
These were easy and turned out well. I didn't have almond extract so I substituted vanilla extract and used Craisins instead of cherries and they are very good. I left out the white chocolate drizzle as I thought they were nice as they were. Will use this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2010
I have made these several times and found that if you follow the ingredients exactly, and make 2 ten inch loaves as the recipe calls for, your recipe will turn out perfectly. With my oven, I need to bake them a little longer than stated in order to get them a little more crunchy. I love these! They look beautiful with the white and dark chocolate drizzled over the top and taste delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Waterford, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2010
These are wonderful cookies. I reduced the sugar to 1/2 C...perfect, used dried cherries, and added coursely chopped toasted almonds. Take note: These are not like traditional biscotti. They are not hard, as you might want a good dipping cookie to be. Instead, they are more soft- like a cookie. You will love the flavor! Ciao.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2010
I'm making my second batch today as I type this... yum! I made them exactly as the recipe called for and didn't have any problems with stickiness of the dough. I did make sure to weigh each half to ensure that I had similar sized logs. I dipped the bottoms in melted semi-sweet chocolate and then drizzled melted white baking chocolate on the tops. I baked them exactly as the recipe called for, including flipping them over. Perfect! I can see that if you increased the chips or the cherries that the dough might not be stable enough to hold together well, so stick to about 1/2 cup of each. There is plenty to make it look pretty AND taste good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by XineRevelle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA
Living In: North Charleston, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2010
Made these just as the recipe says and they turned out brilliantly! They look and taste beautiful. I'll definitely be making these as Christmas gifts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by wordsmythwmn
Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2010
Easy to make, if a bit time consuming. Changed the recipe by using Dried Cherries in place of candied. See picture above. (wordsmythwmn). Too-Lish !!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by wordsmythwmn

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2010
Excellent recipe. I ran out of candied cherries, but had some dried cherries to supplement and the combo was great. I had no problems with crumbly biscotti as others said in their reviews. I used my Wusthof Serrated Knife and cut while the biscotti was still warm - just a few minutes out of the oven. For the seconding baking (after cutting the biscotti), I turned my oven down to 325 and cooked the full 8 minutes on one side then 5 minutes the other. They came out perfect. Once cooled, I dipped the bottoms in chocolate (about 6 ounces with 2 TBLS butter over double broiler) instead of drizzling on top because I wanted to bite into a nice thick coat of chocolate (I'm a chocoholic, what can I say?) .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by valerie160

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Springfield, Virginia, USA
Living In: Ashburn, Virginia, USA

Displaying results 11-20 (of 109) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Chocolate Macarons

See how to make little meringue sandwiches with a ganache filling.

Cinnamon Chocolate Chip Cookies

See how to make chocolate chip cookies with some cinnamon snap.

Jumbo Dark Chocolate Cookies

These dark chocolate cookies will double your chocolate delight.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States