Chocolate Cherry Biscotti Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: May 5, 2003
Good stuff Jennifer. I forgot to add the chocolate (haha), but it turned out good anyway. I like to put my biscotti in the fridge overnight and dry it out. Then store it in a large zip-loc bag. Really good dipped in a hot beverage. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2003
I would give these a 10 if I could. There were absolutely amazing. They were a nice compromise between the "orginial" biscotti (which had no fat other than eggs) and the buttery, cookie-like biscotti that most recipes produce. The biscotti cut well without crumbling (which was a problem with many other recipes), they puffed up perfectly, and they store nicely as well--everything you could want in a biscotti recipe! I made a few small changes: I halved the recipe, and cut back the butter by 1 tablespoon (so in the original, I would have used about 1/3 instead of 1/2 cup). I also added about 1/4 cup of toasted, flaked coconut, and I used cashews (out of almonds) instead. At the end, I melted 1/2 cup of white chocolate with a dab of butter and dipped the cooled biscotti in it. A few notes for anyone trying this recipe: I found that it might be helpful to drop the oven temperature to 250-300 after the first baking, since the outside of my biscotti was browning a little faster than it was crisping. Also, I did not grease my pan after the first baking (as suggested in the recipe), and though I had no problems with my non-stick pan, the biscotti on my other baking pan did stick a little bit. Overall, this is a great recipe, and one that I would use over and over again in the future.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
53 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2003
I used dried cherries instead of candied ones and they were excellent. I gave them as gifts for Christmas and my grandmother sent me back her empty jar so I could refill it! Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2003
Great combination for biscotti. Everyone in the family loved it! East to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2003
These were great - I made together with the cinnamon hazelnut biscotti and gave as christmas gifts. I used Reynolds non-stick aluminum, which worked great for lifting the log to the cutting board. I had no problems with crumbling, they turned out the perfect hardness. You have to watch them very closely though-- 30 seconds is enough to go from perfect to burnt! The almond flavoring is the key ingredient-- it's what makes biscotti taste like biscotti. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2003
These were very good. Everyone wants the recipe! I used cherry flavored cranberries instead of the candied cherries and they turned out quite nice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2002
These were wonderful. They were very easy to cut using a long serrated knife. I used 1 tsp vanilla and 1 tsp almond extract. I didn't have minis so I chopped up regular chocolate chips. I used dried tart montmorency cherries, which were wonderful, but be careful not to burn them on the second baking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2002
Great recipe! I added 1/2 cup of chopped pecans, and used 1 tsp almond extract and 1 tsp vanilla. Will definately make these again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2002
This was a great recipe. I have made this countless times so far. It is very easy and it reminds me of my Italian mother in laws biscotti. I have two toddlers at home so I found sort of a short cut by placing all the ingredients into my bread machine and have it do all of the mixing while I do other things. It works very well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2002
I've also made this recipe using just the cherries. The dough will turn slightly pink. The last time I baked these was for a wedding so I made the logs only 1 1/2 to 2 inches so they would look delicate. Also if you don't like the crunchy texture, after slicing, only bake for about 5 minutes total to just dry the cookie. They still keep just fine and tast great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by STELLY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Johnstown, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 105) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

No Cholesterol Chocolate Chip Cookies

These amazing cookies are good for the heart AND for the taste buds.

How to Make Chocolate Macarons

See how to make little meringue sandwiches with a ganache filling.

White Chocolate Macadamia Cranberry Dreams

These soft buttery treats make terrific holiday cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States