Chocolate Cheesecake IV Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2008
I followed the recipe exactly, but I did not like the outcome. I agree with SWEETWHEAT, except I rate this recipe lower because the texture and consistency are absolutely nothing like a cheesecake ought to be. What you end up with is essentially a fudge pie, which, although rich and chocolaty, will disappoint anyone expecting a dish with the texture of actual cheesecake. Even though this is an incredibly simple recipe, I won't make it again because the final product did not live up to my expectations. It's not creamy or light at all. It's dense, too thick, and very heavy. UPDATE: Well, "zestytomato," I am one of the persons who knows that a cheesecake is NOT supposed to have the consistency of fudge, which is exactly how this recipe turns out, like a block of fudge in a crust. Cheesecake is, if made properly, light. There is a big difference between dense and heavy (as this fake "cheesecake" is) and rich and light (which conventional cheesecake most definitely is).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Baton Rouge, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2001
WARNING!! Take small pieces!! It's very rich and very, very yummy. Additionally it's easy to make. My coworkers loved every bite. In response to another reviewer's problem with too much batter when filling the pie crust, I think the problem was that too small of a crust was used. The majority of the graham cracker crusts in the grocery stores are 8-in. If you look a little further, there are some 9-in ones to be found. The batter fit just perfectly in the 9-in crust. Thanks Kristie for a recipe I will use again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2002
I baked this for a church bake sale,and it sold quick! I melted some of the chocolate chips and glazed it over the top for finishing touches. As many of the others say, you will need a bigger crust! Other than that great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2001
This cheesecake was FANTASTIC!! My Grandmother even said it was good (very high praise!). It was more like eating fudge than cheesecake. One word of advise, buy 2 crusts. I had lots of extra filling and it was terrible having to throw it away.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2002
Although this recipe was delicious, I had to use two 9" graham cracker crusts. Since I had only purchased one, I mashed a package of graham crackers, added 6 tablespoons melted butter, and 1 oz. melted semi-sweet chocolate and pressed it into another 9" pan - this cheesecake was even richer and chocolatier!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2002
I made this recipe on Valentine's Day for my chocaholic sweetie. He loved it. I did use the two crusts, as others had recommended. Thanks! Here's another idea. After it's been in the refrigerator, it's kind of hard. Try throwing it in the microwave. It tastes like a wonderful, moist brownie. Great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2006
My kids loved this and it was sooo simple....so few ingredients makes it easy to remember what to have on hand! I used a chocolate crumb crust instead of regular graham....this recipe is a great basic and likely easy to adapt. I am thinking of swirling in peanut butter or event raspberries!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Yvette

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2009
This was a huge hit at our family's Sunday dinner....I served it topped with homemade caramel sauce, and everyone raved about it. This will be a dessert that I serve company for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2008
This is a really great alternative if you don't have time to make a regular cheesecake, or the space. I like to substitute butterscotch chips for the chocolate chips to shake things up when I make this recipe. It is good both ways! I don't know where people get the idea that cheesecake is light, I mean it's CHEESEcake, but anyhow, this is sweet, rich, and pretty dense. I also recommend a 10-inch crust, or 2 regular sized prepared crust, because this makes a good bit of batter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Gordo, Alabama, USA
Living In: Birmingham, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2007
Very, very good. Made this over the holidays and everyone loved it. So rich!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 35) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chocolate Cookie Cheesecake

Show-stopping cheesecake stars cream-filled chocolate sandwich cookies.

Irish Cream Chocolate Cheesecake

Chocolate cheesecake gets a delicious Irish makeover.

Chocolate Cappuccino Cheesecake

See how to make sinfully rich and chocolaty cheesecake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States