Chocolate Cheesecake IV Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2011
Rich and good, was a hit at the new years eve party.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2010
This cheesecake tasted good, but it turned out a little hard. When I eat cheesecake I expect it to be light and creamy. Also, the graham cracker crust turned out really hard as well. Probably because it had to bake for an hour so the crust turned a little hard. I might try this again but with a different crust.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2009
This was a huge hit at our family's Sunday dinner....I served it topped with homemade caramel sauce, and everyone raved about it. This will be a dessert that I serve company for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2009
Excellent recipe. I tried it using 1 cup chocolate chips and 1 cup reeses peanut butter chips, instead of 2 cups chocolate chips, and it was delicious! It's also delicious the other way too. My husband says the regular way (with 2 cups chocolate chips) is too chocolatey for him, but I loved it. He says he prefers the peanut butter one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2008
This is a really great alternative if you don't have time to make a regular cheesecake, or the space. I like to substitute butterscotch chips for the chocolate chips to shake things up when I make this recipe. It is good both ways! I don't know where people get the idea that cheesecake is light, I mean it's CHEESEcake, but anyhow, this is sweet, rich, and pretty dense. I also recommend a 10-inch crust, or 2 regular sized prepared crust, because this makes a good bit of batter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Gordo, Alabama, USA
Living In: Birmingham, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2008
I followed the recipe exactly, but I did not like the outcome. I agree with SWEETWHEAT, except I rate this recipe lower because the texture and consistency are absolutely nothing like a cheesecake ought to be. What you end up with is essentially a fudge pie, which, although rich and chocolaty, will disappoint anyone expecting a dish with the texture of actual cheesecake. Even though this is an incredibly simple recipe, I won't make it again because the final product did not live up to my expectations. It's not creamy or light at all. It's dense, too thick, and very heavy. UPDATE: Well, "zestytomato," I am one of the persons who knows that a cheesecake is NOT supposed to have the consistency of fudge, which is exactly how this recipe turns out, like a block of fudge in a crust. Cheesecake is, if made properly, light. There is a big difference between dense and heavy (as this fake "cheesecake" is) and rich and light (which conventional cheesecake most definitely is).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Baton Rouge, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2007
Very easy to make and tastes great. Since I had read that there would be extra filling if using the 8" crust, I also bought a package of the Keebler 6 mini Graham Cracker Pie Crusts - and the extra perfectly filled the 6 minis!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Alicia Saunders
Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2007
I made this exactly as the recipe stated, except for the base - I used Oreo crumbs. And I made it in a big tart plate instead of a pie plate. The top did crack, but the black-forest cake style decorating on top hid that. It tasted very very good! :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Truro, Nova Scotia, Canada
Living In: Tillsonburg, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2007
Very, very good. Made this over the holidays and everyone loved it. So rich!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2007
Good gracious this was a fabulous, yet easy, recipe! I get scared of things that might me too chocolately, and I am not usually a big fan of cheesecake, but I couldn't resist trying this since I had the ingredients on hand. I added a tablespoon of instant coffee powder, and then I topped it with chocolate mousse....now it's a Mocha Mousse Madness Cheesecake!! Awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Devonessence

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 35) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Chocolate Cookie Cheesecake

Show-stopping cheesecake stars cream-filled chocolate sandwich cookies.

Irish Cream Chocolate Cheesecake

Chocolate cheesecake gets a delicious Irish makeover.

Chocolate Cappuccino Cheesecake

See how to make sinfully rich and chocolaty cheesecake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States