Chocolate Cheesecake II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2008
I made the recipe exactly like it says except for the topping. I made the topping according to the recipe and then drizzled it over the top using about half of it and it looked and tasted fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2008
Very rich and extremely dense, with a borderline overpowering chocolate taste - and I really like chocolate! I only used about 1/3 of the suggested chocolate ganache to drizzle the top and it was still very heavy. This was definitely good, but I think I might look for a recipe with a lighter texture and flavor. At the very least, I would try adding a raspberry topping to cut the sweetness if I ever made this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Altoona, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Madison, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2008
After quite a few Thanksgivings, my mother had finally confessed to me that she hated Pumpkin Pie, and since she's not a "dessert person" she put me in charge of making something else. I made this and it was gone within the hour. Now it's a part of our holiday traditions. So, thank you for a delicious recipe. I did tweak it just slightly: I used twice the amount of cream in the ganache so it was more pliable and easier to cut into straight out of the fridge. Fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bay City, Michigan, USA
Living In: Lansing, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2008
I only gave this three stars because it baked up so short. Nothing at all like the picture. The flavor was good, but I hate short cheesecakes. Looked skimpy. I used a 9" springform like in the directions. Next time I'll use Chantal's recipe and just add chocolate. That one bakes up really high and fluffy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2008
Made this cake as pictured, with the ganache and chocolate covered strawberries on top, and it tastes perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Norristown, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2008
This was a great cheesecake, but the other reviewers are right - way too much chocolate on top. Was heavy and thick (1/2-inch)and did weigh down the cake. I am going to make it again today, but without the topping. I used chocolate graham crackers for the crust and it was super. Thanks! Just what we were looking for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Havertown, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2007
Wonderful, Fabulous recipe. This one is definitely a keeper. I used milk chocolate chips instead. After the cook time I turned the oven off and without opening the oven left it in for 1 hour. I also used a waterbath which prevented cracking. I cut the topping in half for fear it would be too heavy and sink the cake. It was perfect!! Thank you, I will make this one often!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Baton Rouge, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2007
I omitted the topping, but this cheesecake didn't need it. VERY RICH! But VERY good. I actually used an 8" round pan, and there was way too much batter. When I went to take it out, it had formed a very large sort of mushroom top. So I went crazy and cut the top off, to find that the middle was still liquid. Put it back in for a while, took it out and it was dry on top but moist in the middle. Turned out great that way. I sort of made a crumbly topping accidentally just by overcooking it ;). Haha. I'll definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cyle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sacramento, California, USA
Living In: Northridge, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2007
I looked for a long time for a chocolate cheesecake recipe that looked right to me...and this was it. I changed a few things based on the reviews I read. I used oreo cookies for the crust. I also doubled the cream for the topping, and I split the chips. I used half semi-sweet chocolate and half white chocolate. I drizzled the white chocolate over the regular and it looked outstanding! I also did the strawberries which was just the icing on the cake. My brother and sister-in-law stayed the night for Mother's Day and I woke up the next morning and they were eating the rest for breakfast! It was a huge hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2007
My husband requests this cheesecake each year now for his birthday. It is much better than what you pay $8/slice for at Cheesecake Factory, etc. I use the crushed oreos for crust as well. It's one of the best cheesecakes I've ever had and I will continue to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 147) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chocolate Cookie Cheesecake

Show-stopping cheesecake stars cream-filled chocolate sandwich cookies.

Irish Cream Chocolate Cheesecake

Chocolate cheesecake gets a delicious Irish makeover.

Chocolate Cappuccino Cheesecake

See how to make sinfully rich and chocolaty cheesecake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States