Chocolate Cheesecake II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2009
This recipe was a great base from which to work. I don't have access to cream cheese (hurdle #1) so I used fromage blanc and mascarpone. I'm cutting back on carbs and sugars (hurdle #2) and used agave syrup instead of sugar and for the crust mixed oatmeal, ground almonds, splenda and butter. I didn't use the topping but otherwise followed instructions and it was DELICIOUS!!!!!!!!!! Curbed my chocolate cheesecake craving while sticking to a lower carb diet. Also, since its rich a small 2" square satisfied me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2009
Wonderful!!! I omitted the topping, but added chocolate dipped strawberries. Everyone LOVED it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RYANJENN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lachute, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2009
Awsome cheesecake. I made just a small amount of the topping and drizzled instead of pouring on, and I used the rest to dip strawberrys for the top of cake. Also I used graham cracker crust... but will use cookies next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by moody2

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Roswell, New Mexico, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2009
This was a huge hit for the chocolate lovers. My husband was very pleased. I'm not a chocolate lover, but did enjoy this cheesecake. Changes I made: I halved the chocolate for the ganache. I used Ghiradelli dark chocolate. I also topped with homemade strawberry preserves (pureed) and homemade whipping cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ida, Michigan, USA
Living In: New Boston, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2009
Outstanding!! As per some of the other reviewers' suggestions, I lightened up the ganache topping by using double the amount of whipping cream the recipe called for. Other than this change, which made for very easy slicing, I made this recipe exactly as written, and it turned out to be the best chocolate cheesecake I've ever tasted, let alone made. My husband is typically not a dessert eater, and he requested two pieces, one right after the other. Thanks for this wonderful recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2009
AWESOME!!!!!!!!!!! Absolutely my FAVORITE dessert! ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Avon Lake, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by BlueEyedGoodie
Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2009
I just made this and it's in the oven now. it was pretty easy to make and the uncooked filling tastes wonderful. I can't wait till it's done. I will post pics!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BlueEyedGoodie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bradenton, Florida, USA
Living In: Plant City, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2009
Everyone loved this. I recommend a hot knife to easily slice through the topping.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2008
This one is a winner. I made it healthier with the following changes: chocolate graham crumbs instead of cookie crumbs, Half 'n Half instead of whipping cream, lower fat cream cheese instead of regular, and I reduced the chocolate chips in the topping to 1/2 cup instead of the 1 1/2 cups. And it was still rich, creamy and wonderful! After 10 minutes in the oven my crumb crust was starting to burn. My oven runs a bit hot, so next time I'll only bake it for 5 min.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ginny

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Oconomowoc, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Waukesha, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2008
Turned this in to a Peppermint Chocolate Cheesecake with crushed candy cane topping, chocolate syrup drizzle and whipped cream. This was a big hit. Made the cheesecake without the topping and added 1 oz of peppermint extract to the mix. Read a tip online to only add crushed candy cane topping just before serving. You could easily substitute mint extract. Or leave out all extract and make the chocolate crust have the peppermint like the Chocolate-Peppermint Cheesecake Candy Cane Bars found at desertculinary.blogspot.com. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 146) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chocolate Cookie Cheesecake

Show-stopping cheesecake stars cream-filled chocolate sandwich cookies.

Irish Cream Chocolate Cheesecake

Chocolate cheesecake gets a delicious Irish makeover.

Chocolate Cappuccino Cheesecake

See how to make sinfully rich and chocolaty cheesecake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States