Chocolate Cheesecake II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2010
I have never made a cheesecake in my life but when the hubby requests one for his birthday, what else can I do? I found this most popular recipe and cooked it up no problem. It was decadent, creamy and the chocolate base was just right. I nixed the ganache topping as people suggested. A small crack formed when the cheese cake was cooling which I had no idea was a common issue with cheesecakes. I am now armed with a bevy of tips the next time I attempt a cheesecake. This one is well worth your time and easy peasy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2010
I made this for a Maya themed dinner. It was a complete success! Excellent recipe. Raspberries were not available (not sure why in the middle of August) but used strawberries instead. I think the two chocolates in the cake made it deep with flavor. Then the chocolate "icing" on top just gave it the extra punch. I did pay attention to the thickness of the icing. I could see how too much of the icing would make it hard to cut. by far the best chocolate cheesecake recipe I have used!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Roanoke, Virginia, USA
Living In: Salem, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2010
This recipe was awesome. I made it for a girls night in and it was gone within seconds! The only change I made to the receipe was using oreo cookie crumbs for the crust. I will definitely make this again very soon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2010
This is NY style cheescake. I used chocolate graham crackers for the crust and I always use a water bath when I make cheesecake. My family fights over this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2010
Wonderful. I used oreo cookies for the crust. And thawed frozen raspberries as a topping. It was perfectly creamy and very, very chocolatey goodness-full. I used a different ganache recipe though. Make sure the cheesecake is chilled and cooled before pouring ganache. Set the chilled cheesecake over a cooling rack over a cookie sheet to catch the drips. Okay--so that said, it's a perfect dessert for a chocolate lover! Big hit!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mabcat
Home Town: Moscow, Idaho, USA
Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2010
This was really good. Very rich, only need small slice to get my chocolate fix. I used Oreos for the crust cuz that's what I had on hand, also substituted tofu for one pkg of cream cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2010
Good, pretty easy for a cheesecake, skipped the top layer as per reviews. I dunno, it seemed exceptionally heavy, even for a cheesecake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by katykat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Merrick, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2010
Great cheesecake for anyone to make. This was only my second and it turned out great! I didn't make the topping but put sliced fresh strawberries on top instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jules mcdaniel

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Grass Valley, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2010
Delish!!! Still get compliments.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2010
Best cheesecake hands down. I made this one for my daughter's birthday after she told me she's not too crazy about cheesecake. She changed her mind after she tried this one. After reading reviews I modified a little by making a creamy chocolate topping with about equal portions cream and chocolate chips which cooled to a perfect fudgy top and not overly sweet, just perfect. I then garnished with a rasberry glaze, fresh rasberries, toasted almonds and chocolate shavings and drizzle. Absolutely the best!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 150) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Chocolate Cookie Cheesecake

Show-stopping cheesecake stars cream-filled chocolate sandwich cookies.

Irish Cream Chocolate Cheesecake

Chocolate cheesecake gets a delicious Irish makeover.

Chocolate Cappuccino Cheesecake

See how to make sinfully rich and chocolaty cheesecake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States