Chocolate Cheesecake II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2011
I made this for Valentine's Day and it turned out great! Very easy to make. I actually forgot to put the cocoa powder in, but there was enough chocolate chips in it that it was not even needed. I cut back on the chocolate topping as some other reviewers suggested, and I would also suggest that as well. Raspberries tasted delicious on top!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2011
Wonderful chocolate cheesecake. So rich and yummy! I took the advice of other reviews and skipped the topping. Instead, I used caramel topping. This was my first time making a "real" baked cheesecake. It cracked, but that didn't hurt the taste! Next time I make it, I'll try all the tricks to keep it from cracking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Yellville, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2010
Wonderful cheesecake! Be sure to follow the given hints. The first time I made this, I followed the instructions and it was not pleasing to look at. It tasted great, so I decided to bake it a second time. I followed the hints and now it looks great as well. It's a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Birmingham, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by greekwolf
Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2010
excellent recipe !!!! TIP FOR TOPPING =make a ganache=100gms chocolate with 100ml cream...this creates a great cream topping. Chill cake completely BEFORE spreading on top. TIP FOR NO CRACKS=use parchment paper for lining of pan (bottom and sides) to prevent cracks AND leave in oven for 1 hour prior to removing from oven once baked. TIP TO ENHANCE CHOCOLATE FLAVOR= a pinch of cayenne pepper. TIP FOR CRUST= if you have no chocolate cookies then use vanilla wafers, sugar, butter and cocoa powder. and lastly, I used 4 eggs....ENJOY ..you'll be a hit at any party !!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2010
Oh, this is good cheesecake. I made some changes based on diet and personal preference, but I think what I made is still close enough to go ahead and rate this recipe. I totally skipped the crust, since I'm trying to minimize sugar and the important part for me is the cheesecake "filling," and man is the filling good. It's definitely the cheesecake texture that I prefer - a bit stiffer rather than overly creamy. I used dark chocolate chips instead of semi-sweet in both the filling and the topping, and I think it tastes great - chocolatey and not too sweet. I also replaced the sugar with Splenda, which seems to have worked very well. Finally, I followed other reviewers' suggestions and only used 3/4 C chocolate chips in the topping and it made for a nice soft topping instead of the hard shell that other people described. Thanks for the recipe, Diane! I will most certainly make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TribePride

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Daniela
Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2010
I LOVE this cheesecake. It was PERFECT. The only thing was that I used oreo cookie crumbs for the crust. For a fruit topping I used sliced Strawberries. I make it for my boyfriend's birthday and it was a hit! Do it exactly the way it says because its amazing the way it is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2010
I don't care what anyone says about the topping, I think it is the greatest thing in the world. It is so delicious and adds so much to the overall product that who cares if you have to work a little bit to eat it. I might try to make the topping a little bit thinner, but I wouldn't even consider leaving it off! In fact I am thinking about putting the chocolate topping on a pumpkin cheesecake for Thanksgiving...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2010
I have never made a cheesecake in my life but when the hubby requests one for his birthday, what else can I do? I found this most popular recipe and cooked it up no problem. It was decadent, creamy and the chocolate base was just right. I nixed the ganache topping as people suggested. A small crack formed when the cheese cake was cooling which I had no idea was a common issue with cheesecakes. I am now armed with a bevy of tips the next time I attempt a cheesecake. This one is well worth your time and easy peasy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2010
I made this for a Maya themed dinner. It was a complete success! Excellent recipe. Raspberries were not available (not sure why in the middle of August) but used strawberries instead. I think the two chocolates in the cake made it deep with flavor. Then the chocolate "icing" on top just gave it the extra punch. I did pay attention to the thickness of the icing. I could see how too much of the icing would make it hard to cut. by far the best chocolate cheesecake recipe I have used!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Roanoke, Virginia, USA
Living In: Salem, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2010
This recipe was awesome. I made it for a girls night in and it was gone within seconds! The only change I made to the receipe was using oreo cookie crumbs for the crust. I will definitely make this again very soon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 147) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chocolate Cookie Cheesecake

Show-stopping cheesecake stars cream-filled chocolate sandwich cookies.

Irish Cream Chocolate Cheesecake

Chocolate cheesecake gets a delicious Irish makeover.

Chocolate Cappuccino Cheesecake

See how to make sinfully rich and chocolaty cheesecake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States