Chocolate Cheesecake II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by RebeccaD
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2014
This was fabulous! I did scale it down to 8 servings because I only had 2 cream cheese bricks. I still used a 9" pan and the result was perfect for us - a slightly thinner cake. I used half n half and it was still rich and creamy. I did not do the topping because it really does not need it. This was a scrumptious dessert to end 2013!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RebeccaD

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Millerton, New York, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2013
First cheesecake ever - husband loves it - i didn't read the reviews about the chocolate on top and did more chocolate!!!! next time i will add more cocoa to the filling (yes, he's a choco-nut) - what he really liked was that he came home from work and i was like - look what i whipped up!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2013
I made this for a family gathering and everyone in the family loved it! The chocolate ganache topping paired perfectly with the creamy cheesecake and crunchy-chocolatey crust. The only change that I made was to double the crust ingredients to cover the sides of the cheesecake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by krazyforkookies

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2013
This was rich and decadent. It didnt last long after Chrismas dinner. I did add about 1/2 cup of heavy cream to the topping so it would not set so hard as other reviews stated. I also put dark chocolate chips in the chocolate gram c racker crust. This is a keeper for your chocolate loving people!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: South Elgin, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2013
this is an amazing cheesecake recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2013
for the topping, used equal parts chocolate and cream to not make it so heavy. Was perfect! chocolate teddy grahams for crust.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2012
This is an excellent recipe for a basic chocolate cheesecake without any fancy caramel/coffee/nuts/etc. You could, of course, adapt it and add whatever you want, but I skipped even the chocolate "shell" that other reviewers weren't super stoked about, and it was still one of those less-is-more simple pleasures. It's as easy as any (real) cheesecake can be, and the flavor and texture is perfectly rich and creamy. Definitely bake it in a water bath, or at least with a pan of water underneath, and cool it slowly and completely before serving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heather

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lubbock, Texas, USA
Living In: Glendale Heights, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2012
I loved this cheesecake. It was my first time making a cheesecake, but it came out great. The whole family enjoyed it as well. I skipped the topping because I thought it might make it overly rich and take away from the flavor of the cheesecake. I just wish I could keep the top from cracking. :(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2012
OMG what a great cheesecake! I made it for my Mother's birthday and she said I can make this every year! She described it as "like eating one long truffle" and that about sums it up! I used dark chocolate chips but kept everything else the same. I did make all the chocolate topping, making sure I iced it around the edges after removing the springform pan and it was perfect. Thanks ever so much for this awesome cheesecake recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2012
Fantastic recipe! For the topping I doubled the cream only, and it was perfect - I poured it all on and it made a nice thick topping, & some dribbled down the sides a little where the cake had pulled away from the pan. Very pretty & everyone is raving about it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:


Displaying results 1-10 (of 146) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Chocolate Cookie Cheesecake

Show-stopping cheesecake stars cream-filled chocolate sandwich cookies.

Irish Cream Chocolate Cheesecake

Chocolate cheesecake gets a delicious Irish makeover.

Chocolate Cappuccino Cheesecake

See how to make sinfully rich and chocolaty cheesecake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States