Chocolate Cheesecake II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2014
No sour cream?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Madison, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by lizz
Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2014
Fantastic! Made this a second year in a row as a birthday cake for my 10-year old son with a few adjustments. 1) Crust similar [9 oz. chocolate sandwich cookies with cream removed, 2 Tbsp. Sugar, and 6 Tbsp. melted butter, blended in processor - baked 350 for 12 minutes] that came out crunchy and acted as a great "shell" for the frosting. 2) Frosting also similar [1 cup. whipped cream, 8 oz. semi-sweet chocolate chips, heat cream to just a boil than pour over chips. Let sit about 5 minutes and stir gently until smooth - cool]. Made the cheesecake as directed, baked 325 for 50 minutes, shut off heat and let cool in oven with door closed for 1 hour. A few cracks but since you cover with ganache, it didn't matter. One of the tastiest and easiest recipes I have made, especially since you don't need a water bath! Thanks so much for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by RebeccaD
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2014
This was fabulous! I did scale it down to 8 servings because I only had 2 cream cheese bricks. I still used a 9" pan and the result was perfect for us - a slightly thinner cake. I used half n half and it was still rich and creamy. I did not do the topping because it really does not need it. This was a scrumptious dessert to end 2013!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RebeccaD

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Millerton, New York, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2013
First cheesecake ever - husband loves it - i didn't read the reviews about the chocolate on top and did more chocolate!!!! next time i will add more cocoa to the filling (yes, he's a choco-nut) - what he really liked was that he came home from work and i was like - look what i whipped up!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2013
I made this for a family gathering and everyone in the family loved it! The chocolate ganache topping paired perfectly with the creamy cheesecake and crunchy-chocolatey crust. The only change that I made was to double the crust ingredients to cover the sides of the cheesecake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by krazyforkookies

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2013
This was rich and decadent. It didnt last long after Chrismas dinner. I did add about 1/2 cup of heavy cream to the topping so it would not set so hard as other reviews stated. I also put dark chocolate chips in the chocolate gram c racker crust. This is a keeper for your chocolate loving people!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: South Elgin, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2013
this is an amazing cheesecake recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2013
for the topping, used equal parts chocolate and cream to not make it so heavy. Was perfect! chocolate teddy grahams for crust.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2012
This is an excellent recipe for a basic chocolate cheesecake without any fancy caramel/coffee/nuts/etc. You could, of course, adapt it and add whatever you want, but I skipped even the chocolate "shell" that other reviewers weren't super stoked about, and it was still one of those less-is-more simple pleasures. It's as easy as any (real) cheesecake can be, and the flavor and texture is perfectly rich and creamy. Definitely bake it in a water bath, or at least with a pan of water underneath, and cool it slowly and completely before serving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heather

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lubbock, Texas, USA
Living In: Glendale Heights, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2012
I loved this cheesecake. It was my first time making a cheesecake, but it came out great. The whole family enjoyed it as well. I skipped the topping because I thought it might make it overly rich and take away from the flavor of the cheesecake. I just wish I could keep the top from cracking. :(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 148) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chocolate Cookie Cheesecake

Show-stopping cheesecake stars cream-filled chocolate sandwich cookies.

Irish Cream Chocolate Cheesecake

Chocolate cheesecake gets a delicious Irish makeover.

Chocolate Cappuccino Cheesecake

See how to make sinfully rich and chocolaty cheesecake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States