Chocolate Cheesecake II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2003
I was desperately wanting to make a "homemade" cheesecake...chocolate nonetheless and was suprised when I saw this one. It's exactly like the one in an old Taste of Home issue. It actually ranked as a runner-up in their cheesecake contest so I decided to give it a try. The only alteration I made was to use crushed oreo cookies in place of the wafer crumbs because I didn't have any. Needless to say, this turned out beautifully...and it being my first real cheesecake, I was very proud of myself. Thanks for posting this Diane.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
63 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2001
Great cheesecake! I would cut the topping in half though - it was too thick and weighed down the cheesecake - made it sink. I'd definitely make it again though. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
50 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2001
pretty good, rich cheesecake, although the chocolate topping was not necessary. it was really heavy and my boyfriend and i ended up picking it off. if i make this again i would not put the topping on it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
49 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sault Sainte Marie, Michigan, USA
Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2002
I have never made a cheesecake before in my life and decided to give this one a try for my husband's birthday. It was easy enough to make (for a first-timer) and the end result was fabulous! I received rave reviews from friends and family (all chocolate lovers)! My only suggestion would be to maybe try another type of chocolate icing on top...I was very, very hard after refrigerating it and it made it difficult to eat. (It did taste great though.) You should also note that the recipe doesn't mention that to make the crust you also have to add the 1/4 cup of melted butter to the chocolate crubs and sugar...(I think that part waas overlooked in the recipe.) Otherwise, it was amazing!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2005
I took other people's advice here and doubled the cream when making the topping and then used only a thin layer. (Most of it ended up unused. Next time I'll just halve the chocolate chips.) Drizzled caramel on top of that was a yummy addition. This cheesecake was a big hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by greekwolf
Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2010
excellent recipe !!!! TIP FOR TOPPING =make a ganache=100gms chocolate with 100ml cream...this creates a great cream topping. Chill cake completely BEFORE spreading on top. TIP FOR NO CRACKS=use parchment paper for lining of pan (bottom and sides) to prevent cracks AND leave in oven for 1 hour prior to removing from oven once baked. TIP TO ENHANCE CHOCOLATE FLAVOR= a pinch of cayenne pepper. TIP FOR CRUST= if you have no chocolate cookies then use vanilla wafers, sugar, butter and cocoa powder. and lastly, I used 4 eggs....ENJOY ..you'll be a hit at any party !!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2002
Excellent cheesecake but the topping was too heavy. The next time, I made small cakes using foil cupcake cups and made a chocolate ganache using one ounce semi-sweet choc. to each oz. of heavy cream. Heat cream to just boiling, pour over chocolate til melted, let cool somewhat then pour over individual cheesecakes. Ganache will firm in fridge. Topped each one with strawberry half=dipped in chocolate. Big hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BUFFSTER

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2004
Excellent! I made this for a San Fran themed dinner party and used Ghirardhelli chocolate, reduced fat cream cheese and added an extra 1/4 c. cream to the ganache - it was fabulous!! I also made a Raspberry Sauce with a package of frozen raspberries and 1/2 c. sugar reduced over high heat and strained...it was an exellent addition and contrasted with the sweet cake! I will definitely make this again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ERINMARIE

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Anaheim, California, USA
Living In: Long Beach, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2007
Very good cheesecake! I skipped the topping and poured raspberry sauce over the top instead. Excellent!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kimberly Kotz Walls

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Northfield, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Rochester, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2003
Holy Chocolate Heaven, Batman! This recipe was amazing. A co-worker brought it to the office yesterday for a birthday celebration and had I not decided to leave for the day, I would still be sitting at the counter slowly finishing that cheesecake off! It was creamy on the inside with so many other great textures with the crust and solid chocolate topping. We also used freshly whipped cream as a complement with fresh strawberries as a garnish. SIMPLY INCREDIBLE.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TMoore

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 148) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chocolate Cookie Cheesecake

Show-stopping cheesecake stars cream-filled chocolate sandwich cookies.

Irish Cream Chocolate Cheesecake

Chocolate cheesecake gets a delicious Irish makeover.

Chocolate Cappuccino Cheesecake

See how to make sinfully rich and chocolaty cheesecake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States