Chocolate Cheesecake I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2008
I used chocolate filled oreos as the crust. The taste was awesome! I used about 20 cookies (10 w/filling, 10 w/o chocolate filling), and 1 tablespoon of sugar, because the extra filling did the job. I also did just 3 Tbsp. butter. 1/3 cup will be too much and the butter will melt out of the pan during baking. Then the crust will just taste gross. Also, I changed from 1 cup of semisweet chocolate chips to 1¾ cups, added 3 tablespoons of UNSWEETENED cocoa powder, 1/3 cup heavy whipping cream (and kept the 1/2 cup sour cream), 1/4 teaspoon salt (for flavor), and 4½ Tbsp. of cornstarch instead of flour. Let me tell you the product: a cheesecake that had a glossy finish (a marble smooth top just like in the stores)--thanks to the cornstarch (and the cornstarch acts as a thickener just like the flour, so don't worry about substituting). The cheesecake also leaned towards a dense texture--thanks to the whipping cream (I like my cheesecakes dense, not light and fluffy like mousse. Ick. Then it just becomes a mousse cheesecake, not a cheesecake cheesecake). The cheesecake was still reinforced with that trademark tanginess that everyone attributes cheesecakes with--thanks to the sour cream, and best of all, it had a CREAMY CHOCOLATE TASTE. The added 3/4 cups of chocolate chips made it more chocolatey, but it wasn't overly sweet because of the added cocoa powder (which was unsweetened), and together they made a scrumptious chocolate heaven. Very verry great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jessica
Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2008
I love this recipe =P its great!! i did add more chocolates though. But still the recipe itself was wonderful. This my first attempt at making a cheesecake and i did not overbake it. Yeah!! =P The instruction given for this recipe is very clear and easy to follow. Even a beginner like me could do it. Try it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessica
Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2008
This is the best tasting chocolate cheesecake ever!!! This is the first cheesecake I ever made, but all who ate it loved it so much, tastes better than bakery bought! No complicating ingredients or method, this is one fantastic recipe to share - thanks!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2008
Very yummy, extremely simple to make!! I used chocolate graham cracker crumbs. I increased the chocolate chips to 1.5 cups to make it a little more "chocolately". I poured this into cupcake liners and made mini cheesecakes. I garnished them with a dollop of whipped topping and a little chocolate sauce, super yummy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Lincoln, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by south_coast
Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2008
This was a hit when taken for a luncheon. Admittedly I have never had the gift when it has come to baked cheesecakes, and I am sad to report that this time around was no different. Mine always seem to sag a little. So, to cover my gaffe, I made a toffee cover and placed it on top. Looked great! As we don’t have ‘Graham Cracker Crumbs” in Australia, I actually used the Woolworths brand (Select) of hazelnut and choc-chip biscuits and placed them in the food processor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by south_coast

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Nowra, New South Wales, Australia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2008
This is a great recipe but the last time I made it I bought dove chocolate bars rather then the chocolate chips the chocolate bars tasted much better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Pam Ziegler Lutz
Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2008
I'm in cheesecake heaven! This is awesome! Not too chocolatey - just right! I replaced half of the graham cracker crumbs with ground walnuts for the crust and baked using water bath instructions from this site. Topped with raspberry sauce and whipped cream this is an elegant and delicious dessert. Well, okay, breakfast! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pam Ziegler Lutz

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Monroeville, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: New Castle, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2008
I just made this cheesecake, I had the same problem as many others have where the top cracked really bad. I covered mine with a chocolate ganache, and drizzled melted white chocolate all over it. Hope it tastes as good as it looks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2007
I made this for a friend's birthday. I changed the crust to a basic shortbread crust, used the filling in this recipe exactly, and then put a chocolate ganache on top. It was uber-chocolately and perfect for a birthday cake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bonnie in GA
Home Town: Norcross, Georgia, USA
Living In: Sugar Hill, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Newbirth461
Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2007
This cheesecake looks beautiful except it's a little lop-sided, but that's probably due to my oven. I made this for someone else so I'll have to wait for the review. I just wanted to say how nice it looks and no cracks! I used the water bath. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Newbirth461

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Reidsville, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Newport News, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 84) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chocolate Cookie Cheesecake

Show-stopping cheesecake stars cream-filled chocolate sandwich cookies.

Irish Cream Chocolate Cheesecake

Chocolate cheesecake gets a delicious Irish makeover.

Chocolate Cappuccino Cheesecake

See how to make sinfully rich and chocolaty cheesecake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States