Chocolate Cheesecake I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: May 23, 2010
Absolutely the most wonderful flavored cheesecake I have ever made!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Auburn, Alabama, USA
Living In: Gulf Shores, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2010
Fantastic! Not the flavour I was expecting as it wasn't too chocolately - but this was a good thing! The texture and consistency of the filling was excellent. Only downside is that I have been told to make another one straight away! ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Liverpool, Merseyside, England, U.K.
Living In: Nottingham, Nottinghamshire, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2010
I've made this recipe twice now, and both times its turned out great! The first time I followed it verbatim, and the second, I made a few changes. I replaced two of the packages of cream cheese with fat free cream cheese, and added 2 tbsp of cocoa powder, to give it an even more rich chocolate flavor. I also replaced about half of the butter in the crust with chocolate chips, for a chocolate graham cracker crust (we are major chocoholics around here). All in all, this is a wonderful recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Yuma, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2010
This cheesecake was delicious and creamy. It did crack on me but I will definitely make it again. Though it tasted plenty chocolatey, I will try dark chocolate next because of personal preference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by snugabugl

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fishkill, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2010
Deliciousness!!! We did make several changes. To significantly reduce calories, I used 2 packages of fat free cream cheese and one package of 1/3 fat cream cheese. I have made it both ways, and with all the sugar in it, you don't even notice the fat free cream cheese used!! I did opt to use the sour cream top (again with reduced calorie cream cheese), and also put crushed oreos over the top of that! Couldn't be a more rich, delicious chocolatey dessert! I also only wanted to make a pie, and not the full cheesecake. I used a premade graham cracker pie crust, and only ended up using about 2/3 of the mix. Baked at 350 for about 45 minutes. Our staple Thanksgiving dessert!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WatneFam

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2009
Wow. Will definitely be making this many times again. Perfect as is. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mattswife1123

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Toms River, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2009
I really liked this one. I did add about 2 TBSP cocoa which meant extra 1/3 c sugar, too. I wanted it to be thoroughly chocolatey. I added a bit of coffee liguor and cinnamon too since I like a little bit of cappuccino flavor. And I think a little coffee brings out more chocolate flavor; never a bad thing in my kitchen! I scaled the recipe to 8 servings but it still was a tiny bit much for a normal 9" chocolate oreo pie crust, that I cooked it in. Deep dish would have been perfect with 8 servings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2009
LUSH! I used plain choc and digestives to give more of a cheesecake feel to it though. Better than expected! ***** Brilliant
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ozzylukechef

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2009
It was a hit of course! Everyone loves cheesecake, chocolate, and graham crackers, so how could it not be? However, I live in France and Cream Cheese does not exist, so I had to make due with some other things. I do not think it would have affected the taste one bit, since I did essentially make cream cheese with just an additional step. But there was something missing. I topped it with cherries, which also went over well, but I still felt it needed something more. I think I just wish it was thicker. All in all, a great cheesecake and fairly simple
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Verona, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Clemson, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2008
I used chocolate filled oreos as the crust. The taste was awesome! I used about 20 cookies (10 w/filling, 10 w/o chocolate filling), and 1 tablespoon of sugar, because the extra filling did the job. I also did just 3 Tbsp. butter. 1/3 cup will be too much and the butter will melt out of the pan during baking. Then the crust will just taste gross. Also, I changed from 1 cup of semisweet chocolate chips to 1¾ cups, added 3 tablespoons of UNSWEETENED cocoa powder, 1/3 cup heavy whipping cream (and kept the 1/2 cup sour cream), 1/4 teaspoon salt (for flavor), and 4½ Tbsp. of cornstarch instead of flour. Let me tell you the product: a cheesecake that had a glossy finish (a marble smooth top just like in the stores)--thanks to the cornstarch (and the cornstarch acts as a thickener just like the flour, so don't worry about substituting). The cheesecake also leaned towards a dense texture--thanks to the whipping cream (I like my cheesecakes dense, not light and fluffy like mousse. Ick. Then it just becomes a mousse cheesecake, not a cheesecake cheesecake). The cheesecake was still reinforced with that trademark tanginess that everyone attributes cheesecakes with--thanks to the sour cream, and best of all, it had a CREAMY CHOCOLATE TASTE. The added 3/4 cups of chocolate chips made it more chocolatey, but it wasn't overly sweet because of the added cocoa powder (which was unsweetened), and together they made a scrumptious chocolate heaven. Very verry great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 83) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chocolate Cookie Cheesecake

Show-stopping cheesecake stars cream-filled chocolate sandwich cookies.

Irish Cream Chocolate Cheesecake

Chocolate cheesecake gets a delicious Irish makeover.

Chocolate Cappuccino Cheesecake

See how to make sinfully rich and chocolaty cheesecake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States