Chocolate Cheesecake I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2005
Delicious, rich cheesecake that has gotten rave reviews from some pretty tough critics. If you can stretch your budget a wee bit, I strongly recommend using imported chocolate. I've had excellent results with Callebaut. Is incredibly moist and almost mousse-like if you cook for just 50-60 minutes. (If you like it drier, like a typical store-bought one, cook it for 75 minutes, or so.) When you remove it from the oven it is still liquid, but sets-up in the fridge overnight. As others have done, I wrap pan in tinfoil and cook in water bath, but remove it from oven immediately when it is done and after about 5 minutes or so, carefully run a knife along the sides to prevent the cake from adhering and cracking when it cools. I put in fridge when it is lukewarm/cool. Haven't had it crack yet. Top with sugared strawberries.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2004
This cheesecake was good, but not sweet enough for my personal taste. Also, I tried the tip about putting an ice cube in the bottom of my oven and have a suggestion. If you are going to try the ice cube trick, make sure the bottom of your oven is very clean-otherwise you will get smoke!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rachel

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2004
I thought it was good, but not amazing. One thing to watch for- make sure you don't add the chocolate to the mixture when it is hot- it will curdle in the cream cheese mixture. Mine turned into a "cookies and cream" pie because of that. It tasted good, though. Add chocolate syrup to a slice!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SYRIELLE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2004
This cheesecake was great, but I definitely have to agree with the reviewer who said to make sure your oven is not hotter than 350. My oven tends to run hot and I ended up with cracks. It still tasted great, however.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2004
This is truly amazing! Everyone couldnt believe how much it tastes like the piece of cheesecake from the restaurant that you pay over $5 per slice! This deserves 10 stars!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2003
We made using the recipe for the filling, but a premade graham cracker crust that I had on hand. Good, but not great. Will try another next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2003
Absolutely amazing, got rave reviews from everyone at the party. Didn't crack at all thanks (I think) to the tip about the ice cube. I cooked it 50 minutes before turning off the heat. After letting it cool in oven for 2 hours, I refrigerated it for a few hours. I drizzled melted chocolate chips over the top and refrigerated to set the topping. As beautiful as it was tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Berwick, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2003
Oooh-la-la! Followed the recipe to a T (sort of), except I used chocolate grahams for the crust. I also didn't exactly pour the melted chocolate (which I did in the microwave in 20 second intervals) in "slowly"....I just sort of dumped it all in at once and then turned the mixer on (hot chocolate, cold cheese mixture). It ended up with a "speckled" look (which was rather exotic if you ask me)! Tasted great with slightly sugared strawberry slices on top. Yum, yum, yummy! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2003
This recipe was GREAT. I baked in a water bath like the Cheesecake tips suggested. I however should have wraped my pan in tinfoil as a little water leaked in an made the crust soggy. The cheesecake was baked to perfection, no cracks. I cooled over night and it was silky and mouth watering. Will be a monthly treat in our house. NOTE: I used 1/3 fat cream cheese and the texture was still perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2003
It was very rich in chocolate - maybe too much for my families taste. Wasn't a big hit at my house because it was not sweet enough and too dense and rich. IU can see where chocoholics would love this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 83) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chocolate Cookie Cheesecake

Show-stopping cheesecake stars cream-filled chocolate sandwich cookies.

Irish Cream Chocolate Cheesecake

Chocolate cheesecake gets a delicious Irish makeover.

Chocolate Cappuccino Cheesecake

See how to make sinfully rich and chocolaty cheesecake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States