Chocolate Cheese Frosting Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2010
Perfect. Some tips: beat the cream cheese and butter together until light, fluffy and free of lumps. Sift the powdered sugar and cocoa powder together before adding - again, to ensure no lumps or bumps. Finally, I'd suggest not adding ANY milk until the end, and then do so little by little! Particularly if you're going to pipe this frosting, as I did, you won't want to use the full amount! I wanted a pure chocolate frosting so I didn't add the cinnamon and this is exactly what I was looking for. Smooth, richly chocolate, and the cream cheese makes this a not-too-sweet frosting. I used this to frost "Lori's White Bread Cake," also from this site (a little plug for that lonely but exceptional recipe!) and it was like gilding the lily!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
105 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2004
This is an excellent frosting and I have made it a few times in the last few months before writing this review (wanted to give it a fair shake). I have found that if you eat it the same day you make it, the flavors have not had time to "blend," and the powdered sugar can destinctly be tasted. So, frost and wait a day to allow the cream cheese and sugar to meld together. A lovely, rather expensive-tasting (so be sure the cake deserves it!) frosting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
49 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lara

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rockville, Maryland, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2002
YUM! YUM! YUMMY!!! I was tempted to just eat this out of the bowl! Tangy, sweet, and awe-inspiring. I used it to frost the "Deep Dark Chocolate Cake," and the combo was amazing! I did tweak it a bit though: Only 3 cups of powdered sugar (4 seemed like too much), and I ditched the cinnamon completely. It's a good recipe that can be adjusted to suit your personal taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2001
Very good. I used regular cocoa and less conf. sugar..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2005
Very good recipe, but agree with previous reviewer that it is important to let the frosting set for a bit. I made this recipe with a little added melted semisweet chocolate and slightly less sugar than called for. I tried it about an hour after I made it and hated it - the flavors didn't go well and the sugar stood out. About 5 hours later guests started eating the cake and raving about the frosting. The bowl with the extra frosting was the most popular item in the kitchen. I tried the frosting again and agreed it was actually very good - so make sure that you plan ahead when making this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2006
AMAZING. The texture and consistency of this frosting is incredible! It is dense, thick and creamy which makes it a breeze to frost a cake. The taste is amazing; not too sweet and perfect on a dark chocolate cake. I would recomend using half the required sugar and then tasting it before adding the rest, as i found it to be perfect with only 2 cups sugar. My new favorite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Suffield, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2007
Excellent recipe I used for a base. I omitted one cup of sugar and the cinnamon - I then added 1/2 teaspoon of cayenne pepper. I then let it sit overnight and WOW! Throw away the cake and eat this frosting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cookin' Canuck

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2000
I love this frosting. I mixed together everything except the cocoa at first and took out a portion of the white frosting then mixed the cocoa into the remainder. I then used it to frost a marble cake by putting on the layer of chocolate and dropping bits of the white on top and swirling it with a knife. I was quite beautiful and a huge hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2007
I really enjoyed this frosting. The cinnamon was a subtle but great addition that I definitely recommend trying. I needed to use close to the 4 cups of powdered sugar to achieve the consistency of the frosting I wanted. Delicious. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by alizajaafar
Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2002
Tried Cream Cheese topping before but never a chocolate one. Have used it on Hersheys' Deep Dark Chocolate Cake/Dark Chocolate Cake I & II. It was all HEAVENLY!! Out of the fridge it tasted like a rich chocolate ice cream..mmmm. But 1 1/2 cup of the sugar was just enough for me though, to get that sourish cheese taste I love
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by alizajaafar

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Petaling Jaya, Selangor, Malaysia
Living In: Johor Bahru, Johor, Malaysia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 187) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

German Chocolate Cake Frosting II

See how to make a warm German cake frosting with pecans and coconut.

Chef John's Cream Cheese Frosting

See how to make an easy cream cheese frosting.

Chocolate Chip Cheese Ball

It’s like a chocolate cheesecake without all the hard work!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States