Chocolate Cheese Frosting Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2009
This frosting is great. It definitely does have a tangy flavor because of the cream cheese which I like, but not everyone probably would. I used almost the whole four cups of confectioner's sugar because the 4 T. of milk was too much. I wasn't planning to use more than three cups of sugar! Next time, I might stop at 2 T. of milk and see how that turns out. The birthday girl loved the taste of cinnamon in this recipe :o) I loved that it was one of the easiest chocolate frosting recipes I have ever made! PS: It's a lovely medium brown color so I made a dark chocolate glaze to drizzle all over the cake as contrast. So pretty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carrieh82

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2009
This was my first attempt at a chocolate cream cheese frosting and it was a hit with the chocolate zuchini cake from this site. I only used 3 cups of the powdered sugar, used reduced fat cream cheese, and skim milk. I used only 1/2 the coco powder that it called for because I am not one for extremely chocolately frostings. It was perfect. Used the left overs to dip our strawberries in! MMMMMMM. I think the cinnamon definitely added to the flavor. It never hurts to add cinnamon if you like it because it is good for you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2009
This is an awesome recipe! I have tried several other chocolate frosting recipes and they were either too sugary or bitter. The cream cheese keeps it from being too sweet (doesn't taste like confectioners sugar) and gives it an amazing texture. I used melted baker's chocolate, and it was great in this recipe. I'll be using this for many cakes to come.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by thekitchenlab

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2009
This was really good except I would definitely leave out the cinnamon next time. Chocolate doesn't need any help with flavoring!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2009
I'm not a fan of chocolate frosting but this was amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by TRIPLEBINKIE
Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2009
Tasty, easy to make, and the cinnamon really made the flavors pop!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TRIPLEBINKIE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2009
I wasn't crazy about this recipe...but in fairness I think I might have messed it up. I added some more milk because it was too stiff to mix, then I had to add a lot more powdered sugar. And that skewed the results. I will have to try again to be sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2009
Made it with Mascarpone cheese and 3 cups icing sugar. Awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2009
Not great. Very runny, even when kept in the fridge. Thankfully, I didn't frost the cupcakes and just frosted each one before eating it. Usually, 24 cupcakes wouldn't last a week in my house. I've had mine around for at least a month in the fridge and they are not going fast. The "tang" people talk about is not a good thing. I'm not sure if it's the cinnamon or what, but the frosting does not taste good and it leaves a bad aftertaste. I made it exactly according to the directions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA
Living In: Billerica, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2009
Excellent taste and consistency. Based on other reviews, I cut back the sugar to 3 c and used just 3 tbsp of milk (actually I used cream in lieu of milk). I used it on Dark Chocolate Cake II. Also added a pinch of salt. Will keep for next time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 187) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

German Chocolate Cake Frosting II

See how to make a warm German cake frosting with pecans and coconut.

Chef John's Cream Cheese Frosting

See how to make an easy cream cheese frosting.

Chocolate Chip Cheese Ball

It’s like a chocolate cheesecake without all the hard work!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States