Chocolate Cheese Frosting Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2012
I left out one cup of powdered sugar and added a cup of peanut butter instead. Oh so good! Makes less sugar but so much flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2012
So good. I used buttermilk instead of milk and it made it extra tangy. I think next time I'll stick with the milk. Otherwise ended up with MORE than enough to frost 2 9 in cakes (even in between) with tons left over.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Angie
Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2011
The taste was both satisfying and intriguing; *chocolate* cream cheese was new to me! I used both the cinnamon as well as 1/2 teaspoon cayenne and only 3 cups sugar as opposed to 4 and only 3 T milk. I whipped the cream cheese, butter and vanilla first, per folks' suggestion. My disappointment came with the texture, which is really just personal preference and not anything the recipe ever promised to be: thick, sticky and a bit too cocoa-powdery, even after 12 hours. I haven't made too many homemade icings in my time so wasn't sure what to expect and had hoped for a little more fluffiness. I think next go I would whip some heavy cream first into soft peaks and try folding it in. The recipe produces plenty -- I had about 3/4-1 cup left after icing a 9*13.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2011
Superb! I tasted mine right after I mixed it and it was perfect! It was very smooth and not nearly as sweet as that nasty store bought stuff I'm usually stuck with. I didn't have any vanilla though, so I had to omit that, neither did I add the cinnamon, but it was amazing all the same.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2011
Not sure what I did wrong because this was sour & even with extra sugar was inedible. I did like the slight cinnamon taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2011
Great frosting recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2011
hint of cinnamon, mmmm yummy! not too sweet! probably not so much milk the next time until the end when I know how thick it is going to be.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2011
Excellent frosting and super easy to make. I didn't use all of the sugar that the recipe called for just to cut down on sweetness and it was still wonderful. Also looks beautiful after piping!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by luvz2cook

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2011
FANTASTIC!! The cream cheese in this is perfect - not overpowering, but definitely adds an interesting flavor. I didn't add the cinnamon, but did not miss it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristin O

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Rochester, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2011
Yum. This frosting has a great texture. It's very creamy and smooth. It was very easy to make too and uses 1 box of powdered sugar which is perfect so I don't have to keep a half a box in the cupboard! The only downfall is that cocoa taste and lack of cream cheese flavor. I would have liked a more cream cheese flavor and perhaps different type of chocolate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nowelle

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 187) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

German Chocolate Cake Frosting II

See how to make a warm German cake frosting with pecans and coconut.

Chef John's Cream Cheese Frosting

See how to make an easy cream cheese frosting.

Chocolate Chip Cheese Ball

It’s like a chocolate cheesecake without all the hard work!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States