Chocolate Cheese Frosting Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2014
It's so runny, it's like cake batter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2014
Thank you Carol. I made 'mom71's chocolate cake and frosted it with your frosting...wow! Every loves it. It's the best frosting hands down!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Rhonda B.
Reviewed: May 13, 2014
Excellent frosting. Made it exactly as written except omitted the cinnamon because I only wanted chocolate flavor. Used it on One Bowl Chocolate Cake III and everyone loved the birthday cake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Watsonville, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2014
Disgustingly sweet. I think maybe 1.5 cups of sugar will do - a whole package is just ridiculous. Also, adding the cinnamon really ruined it for me. As a cinnamon frosting, it'd be good but it just totally took away from the chocolate flavor. I am going to try this again but heavily modify it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2014
I've made this recipe several times and absolutely love it! It's rich and fudgey without being too sweet! The cinnamon gives it a perfect little kick!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Temple, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2014
This is a fantastic recipe! I doubled it to frost 24 cupcakes but only used 6 (instead of 8) cups of powdered sugar and not a single drop of milk and it was the PERFECT consistancy for piping.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mindy
Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2014
Great tasting icing. Not overly sweet. I did sift dry ingredients into creamed mixture to ensure no lumps. I also added milk at the end to get the right consistency. I will use this recipe again. My family loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2014
I do a lot of baking, and while frostings are fairly simple, it's hard to find a good recipe for a frosting that's firm enough to pipe, holding its shape without refrigeration, that doesn't taste sickeningly sweet. This recipe is a perfect base. I did change it slightly, cutting back on the powdered sugar (a good deal) & cocoa powder (a little bit), adding between 3-4 oz melted chocolate, and added just a splash of corn syrup for a little smoothness. I also replaced the milk with half and half for extra richness. This frosting is soft, silky, and rich without being heavy. It holds its shape perfectly, too. Be -sure- to mix on medium-high speeds for several minutes. If you have problems with lumps in the frosting, make sure your cream cheese is warm enough, and mix with butter before adding the other ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2014
I thought this would be really sweet and planned on using only 2 cups of confectioners sugar, but the cream cheese and chocolate really do balance out everything. Except for leaving out the cinnamon, I followed the recipe exactly and LOVED IT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2014
Quite good, not my favorite but I dig it. For better results sift the confectioner's sugar twice, and if you do not want it this sweet, you can cut from 4 cups to 3 with no problem at all. Like other reviews: measure the milk to your taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ERIKA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ciudad De México, Distrito Federal, Mexico
Living In: Cuernavaca, Morelos, Mexico

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 210) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

German Chocolate Cake Frosting II

See how to make a warm German cake frosting with pecans and coconut.

Chef John's Cream Cheese Frosting

See how to make an easy cream cheese frosting.

Hard Chocolate Glaze

A simple but decadent chocolate glaze that spreads on easy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States