Chocolate Cheese Frosting Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2013
First time making homemade frosting and I'm glad I picked this one. I impressed myself lol :) I added the 4th tbsp of milk and it made a LOT, like enough to frost maybe even TWO 9 x 13s. I used it on Grandpops chocolate cake from this site and it went very well together!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jessyreebok
Home Town: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2013
This recipe was very easy to work with, piped beautifully onto cupcakes and tastes fantastic. I did make some slight modifications. As others recommended I started with room temp cream cheese and butter and whipped them first. Then I added dutch cocoa, powdered sugar and also added one 3.5 ounce bar of melted Valrhona 71% chocolate. I started with 3 cups of confectioner's sugar and felt like the sweetness to tang level and consistency were just right at that point, so skipped the 4th cup. As they were blending I then added in the milk (all 4 TB) and a generous pour of Penzey's double strength vanilla. I used a sprinkle of cinnamon, but not the full amount. It had a wonderful flavor and texture without being overly sweet, so am curious to see if it tastes even better after sitting overnight.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GROOVBUNNY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Santa Cruz, California, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2013
This icing came out beautifully and complemented the chocolate cake nicely.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2013
I used one box of powered sugar and no milk, otherwise exactly as written. Used it on chocolate pumpkin cupcakes. Would definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2013
Do not add milk for thicker frosting. I was apprehensive of adding the cinnamon but did and loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2013
I made this, followed the recipe before reading some of the reviews. It tasted amazing but was very runny. I should have left the milk out until the end like some reviewers suggested. I had to add more icing sugar, I couldn`t taste the cream cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DOMESTICGODDESS36

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ayton, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Waterloo, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2013
I liked this recipe. I beat the butter and cream cheese as another poster suggested then added the cocoa powder and sugar. I kept looking at the 4 cups of sugar and thinking, wow that is a lot of sugar. I used one cup and that was plenty. I also added about a 1/4 sour cream. I also let it sit a while after mixing and it really smoothed out. Nice recipe with modifications.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2013
I followed this recipe as close as possible. I thought I had enough powder sugar but as it turned out I only had a cup and by happy accident it turned out to be just perfect. Not overly sweet and the consistency was fantastic. I used this frosting for a black forrest cake and it worked out very nicely. I just went back over the recipe and realized that I forgot to add the milk DOH! Well ..whatever it worked out and I will be definetly be using this recipe again. We are not overly sweet frosting eaters in fact, if we order carrot cake we usually will request it without hte frosting...yeah imagine the looks we get..anyway this frosting is perfect for those of who are not into sweet frosting its tangy and thick but could stand to be just a tad more chocolatey was more milk chocolate than anything else. Nothing that can't be played with :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2013
I loved this frosting! I forgot to add the cinnamon and I used only 2 1/2 cups of powdered sugar. I wanted more tangy than sweet. I will have to try the cinnamon next time! It was perfect with my chocolate cupcakes and I still have so much leftover... Bring on the graham crackers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by love2bake
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2013
LOVED THIS! It came out absolutely perfect. I didn't add the cinnamon (not a fan) but it still came out amazing. I think the problem people are having with the frosting becoming runny is because they're adding the full 4 tbsp. I alternated a tbsp. of milk with a cup of sugar. I only used three cups of sugar because I was afraid it would be too sugary. Next time I'll try it with special dark cocoa and see how it turns out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rebecca Walser

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 199) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

German Chocolate Cake Frosting II

See how to make a warm German cake frosting with pecans and coconut.

Chef John's Cream Cheese Frosting

See how to make an easy cream cheese frosting.

Hard Chocolate Glaze

A simple but decadent chocolate glaze that spreads on easy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States