Chocolate Cheese Frosting Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2014
I do a lot of baking, and while frostings are fairly simple, it's hard to find a good recipe for a frosting that's firm enough to pipe, holding its shape without refrigeration, that doesn't taste sickeningly sweet. This recipe is a perfect base. I did change it slightly, cutting back on the powdered sugar (a good deal) & cocoa powder (a little bit), adding between 3-4 oz melted chocolate, and added just a splash of corn syrup for a little smoothness. I also replaced the milk with half and half for extra richness. This frosting is soft, silky, and rich without being heavy. It holds its shape perfectly, too. Be -sure- to mix on medium-high speeds for several minutes. If you have problems with lumps in the frosting, make sure your cream cheese is warm enough, and mix with butter before adding the other ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2014
I thought this would be really sweet and planned on using only 2 cups of confectioners sugar, but the cream cheese and chocolate really do balance out everything. Except for leaving out the cinnamon, I followed the recipe exactly and LOVED IT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2014
Quite good, not my favorite but I dig it. For better results sift the confectioner's sugar twice, and if you do not want it this sweet, you can cut from 4 cups to 3 with no problem at all. Like other reviews: measure the milk to your taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ERIKA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ciudad De México, Distrito Federal, Mexico
Living In: Cuernavaca, Morelos, Mexico

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2013
So Good! Great spin on a typical frosting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2013
First time making homemade frosting and I'm glad I picked this one. I impressed myself lol :) I added the 4th tbsp of milk and it made a LOT, like enough to frost maybe even TWO 9 x 13s. I used it on Grandpops chocolate cake from this site and it went very well together!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jessyreebok
Home Town: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2013
This recipe was very easy to work with, piped beautifully onto cupcakes and tastes fantastic. I did make some slight modifications. As others recommended I started with room temp cream cheese and butter and whipped them first. Then I added dutch cocoa, powdered sugar and also added one 3.5 ounce bar of melted Valrhona 71% chocolate. I started with 3 cups of confectioner's sugar and felt like the sweetness to tang level and consistency were just right at that point, so skipped the 4th cup. As they were blending I then added in the milk (all 4 TB) and a generous pour of Penzey's double strength vanilla. I used a sprinkle of cinnamon, but not the full amount. It had a wonderful flavor and texture without being overly sweet, so am curious to see if it tastes even better after sitting overnight.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GROOVBUNNY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Santa Cruz, California, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2013
This icing came out beautifully and complemented the chocolate cake nicely.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2013
I used one box of powered sugar and no milk, otherwise exactly as written. Used it on chocolate pumpkin cupcakes. Would definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2013
Do not add milk for thicker frosting. I was apprehensive of adding the cinnamon but did and loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2013
I made this, followed the recipe before reading some of the reviews. It tasted amazing but was very runny. I should have left the milk out until the end like some reviewers suggested. I had to add more icing sugar, I couldn`t taste the cream cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DOMESTICGODDESS36

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ayton, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Waterloo, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 193) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

German Chocolate Cake Frosting II

See how to make a warm German cake frosting with pecans and coconut.

Chef John's Cream Cheese Frosting

See how to make an easy cream cheese frosting.

Chocolate Chip Cheese Ball

It’s like a chocolate cheesecake without all the hard work!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States