Chocolate Cheese Frosting Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Photo by u62philo
Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2010
This was amazing! I am throwing away my old chocolate cream cheese icing recipe. I would recommend starting with three cups of the sugar and two tbsp of milk so you can adjust it to your liking. SO smooth and delicious with the Dark Chocolate Cake. I coated the cake with mini chocolate chips too. WONDERFUL!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by u62philo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mercer, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Erie, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2009
Not as chocolatey as I hoped, but still a good change up from basic chocolate buttercream frosting. I had no problems with texture (beat the cream cheese and butter for several minutes in a Kitchen Aide before adding other ingredients) and used all 4 cups of sugar but only 3 T of milk. After setting up, the outside of the frosting hardens a bit but the inside is still wonderfully soft and gooey.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2009
very rich, I only used 3 cups of confec. sugar though, my family loved it, my son especially loved the cinnamon taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MommyMayhem32

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2009
This frosting tasted delicious. The cream cheese made it not too sugary-sweet, which is what I usually can't stand about most frosting. Based on other reviews, I added the sugar 1 c. at a time so it wouldn't be too sweet & I ended up only using 3 c. of sugar. My main complaints are that it was hard to get the frosting completely smooth & it was a bit too runny so I would probably use less milk next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2009
I only used 2 cups of the sugar and left out the cinnamon. I put it on the "too much chocolate cake" from this site. Next time I'll start with less milk so it'll be a little thicker. But my guests raved!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2009
This frosting is great. It definitely does have a tangy flavor because of the cream cheese which I like, but not everyone probably would. I used almost the whole four cups of confectioner's sugar because the 4 T. of milk was too much. I wasn't planning to use more than three cups of sugar! Next time, I might stop at 2 T. of milk and see how that turns out. The birthday girl loved the taste of cinnamon in this recipe :o) I loved that it was one of the easiest chocolate frosting recipes I have ever made! PS: It's a lovely medium brown color so I made a dark chocolate glaze to drizzle all over the cake as contrast. So pretty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carrieh82

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2009
This was my first attempt at a chocolate cream cheese frosting and it was a hit with the chocolate zuchini cake from this site. I only used 3 cups of the powdered sugar, used reduced fat cream cheese, and skim milk. I used only 1/2 the coco powder that it called for because I am not one for extremely chocolately frostings. It was perfect. Used the left overs to dip our strawberries in! MMMMMMM. I think the cinnamon definitely added to the flavor. It never hurts to add cinnamon if you like it because it is good for you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2009
This is an awesome recipe! I have tried several other chocolate frosting recipes and they were either too sugary or bitter. The cream cheese keeps it from being too sweet (doesn't taste like confectioners sugar) and gives it an amazing texture. I used melted baker's chocolate, and it was great in this recipe. I'll be using this for many cakes to come.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by thekitchenlab

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2009
This was really good except I would definitely leave out the cinnamon next time. Chocolate doesn't need any help with flavoring!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2009
I'm not a fan of chocolate frosting but this was amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 212) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

German Chocolate Cake Frosting II

See how to make a warm German cake frosting with pecans and coconut.

Chef John's Cream Cheese Frosting

See how to make an easy cream cheese frosting.

Hard Chocolate Glaze

A simple but decadent chocolate glaze that spreads on easy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States