Chocolate Cheese Frosting Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2014
I didn't use any milk because it looked really soft, although it firmed up a lot in the fridge. Skipping the milk helped with piping. I also skipped about 1/2 cup of the icing sugar because although I liked the cream cheese flavour, I still would've preferred a less sweet and deeper chocolate flavour. I used dutch processed cocoa for a richer colour and flavour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2014
I like this frosting. I have made it a number of times.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Bismarck, North Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2014
Greatest chocolate frosting I've tried so far... I omitted one cup of sugar and the cinnamon and added chili powder instead (NOT the smoky tasting kind)... Used it on a wedding cake (choc&raspberry flavours) - and it was DELISH!!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marlene Lindbäck

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2014
It's so runny, it's like cake batter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2014
Thank you Carol. I made 'mom71's chocolate cake and frosted it with your frosting...wow! Every loves it. It's the best frosting hands down!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Rhonda B.
Reviewed: May 13, 2014
Excellent frosting. Made it exactly as written except omitted the cinnamon because I only wanted chocolate flavor. Used it on One Bowl Chocolate Cake III and everyone loved the birthday cake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Watsonville, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2014
Disgustingly sweet. I think maybe 1.5 cups of sugar will do - a whole package is just ridiculous. Also, adding the cinnamon really ruined it for me. As a cinnamon frosting, it'd be good but it just totally took away from the chocolate flavor. I am going to try this again but heavily modify it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2014
I've made this recipe several times and absolutely love it! It's rich and fudgey without being too sweet! The cinnamon gives it a perfect little kick!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Temple, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2014
This is a fantastic recipe! I doubled it to frost 24 cupcakes but only used 6 (instead of 8) cups of powdered sugar and not a single drop of milk and it was the PERFECT consistancy for piping.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mindy
Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2014
Great tasting icing. Not overly sweet. I did sift dry ingredients into creamed mixture to ensure no lumps. I also added milk at the end to get the right consistency. I will use this recipe again. My family loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 193) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

German Chocolate Cake Frosting II

See how to make a warm German cake frosting with pecans and coconut.

Chef John's Cream Cheese Frosting

See how to make an easy cream cheese frosting.

Chocolate Chip Cheese Ball

It’s like a chocolate cheesecake without all the hard work!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States