Chocolate Cheese Frosting Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 14, 2015
I just made this and it is easy and delicious, but I did modify the sugar content substantially. I used Dutch baking cocoa, which is just 100% cocoa powder - no added sugar. The idea of putting 4 cups of sugar into this recipe though just struck me as way more than I wanted. I put in 1-1/2 cups of confectioner's sugar. I used the amounts directed for everything else. It came out plenty sweet and creamy. I put it on a depression-era chocolate Crazy Cake, and then sprinkled walnuts on top. I had so much left over after icing a 9x9 cake (liberally) that I blended in even more walnuts, a bunch of flaked coconut, dropped it by the spoonful onto parchment paper and stuck them in the freezer to have as bonbons.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kimberley Edwards

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2015
Excellent! Followed instructions exactly as given. Fluffy, smooth, creamy, rich chocolate flavor. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Orwell, Ohio, USA
Living In: Albion, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2015
Made this tonight and LOVED IT! I made a few adjustments to my liking. Less powdered sugar, more cocoa powder, less milk. I just eyed it until it looked thick enough to pipe. And it turned out delicious. It turned out close to how store bought is instead of that awful sweet that most homemade buttercreams end up being. And I had enough left over to store in the fridge.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nichole Scharnett

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2015
Did not care for the taste of cinnamon. It took away from chocolate flavour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2015
Extremely smooth frosting. I used my kitchenaid mixer and blended for about 2 minutes until nice and smooth. I piped it in a circular motion in cupcakes. So good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by minzoni

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Eldred, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Marlton, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2015
WOW! Super rich and happy! I have used this recipe for many different baked goods and get rave reviews every time. It stands up well as well for several days
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: South Bend, Indiana, USA
Living In: Knoxville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2015
Great to spread, chocolaty, and you'd never guess there was cream cheese in it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Tony Tur
Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2015
So I have to say I made this recipe for first time. Modified a little and added a little and came out absolutely amazing. I'd recommend adding some strong brewed coffee and a whole cup of cocoa. It's a must try. I don't rate a lot and I had to rate this one. My girlfriend wanted to put Nutella on a chocolate cake I made. When she tried this frosting she had deaert before we started dinner. :-) have fun and bake with love it's what it's about.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tony Tur

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2015
This frosting was delicious however I only used 2 cups icing sugar and it was plenty sweet! Adding two more cups would have been INSANELY sweet!! I had already added the 4 Tbs milk and it was fine, however next time I will reduce it to 2 or 3 since I am adding less sugar. I took another users advice and took out half before adding about 1/4 c. cocoa powder. I put a little cinnamon in the chocolate and it was amazing! Thanks! P.S. I had quite a bit left over after icing 12 large cupcakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Angela Elliott

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2015
First, you can't go wrong with cream cheese. Then you add chocolate!!! OMG!!! I made this to go with the Black Magic Cake from this site and it was amazing!!!!!! I did, however, leave out the cinnamon. I start with 2 cups of powdered sugar and then increase as I need; you can always add but you can't take out. This is my favorite chocolate frosting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 212) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

German Chocolate Cake Frosting II

See how to make a warm German cake frosting with pecans and coconut.

Chef John's Cream Cheese Frosting

See how to make an easy cream cheese frosting.

Hard Chocolate Glaze

A simple but decadent chocolate glaze that spreads on easy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States