Chocolate Chai Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Blender Woman
Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2012
I don't know that I think chai when I taste this, but it makes a great cup of hot cocoa. I topped it with whipped cream. I thought it tasted as good as any hot chocolate drink from a coffee shop. I liked that it did not use packet hot cocoa, like other similar recipes. I just did 1 serving in the microwave. I boiled the water and seeped one bag. I then followed with 1/2 of the rest of the ingredients, to make one serving, heating in the microwave as needed. I may try it next time with Truvia. TY
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Blender Woman

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Photo by KarenPChappell
Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2013
Made this today for Halloween for my husband and me. We both loved it. Put a dollop of whipped cream on top. I am a huge lover of chai drinks. Starbucks has nothing over this one! Some think it is too chocolatey. Chocolate is the most healthful ingredient in it, so I like the full amount. I wondered if it was too much spice, but I thought it was just right.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2013
I have made this so many times...I've lost count. Love Love Love. I made this for 8 teens the other day and they kept asking for more. The only change I sometimes make to it is that I add more water less milk. I make sure its half water half milk so that I get a stronger tea flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2009
Reminds me of what i use to drink while in Afghan. Learned to drink it in the morning cause it keeps me up all day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2008
pretty good! I agree that the amount of cocoa should be reduced a bit. I ended up using 2 teaspoons of cocoa instead of tablespoon without realizing that i read it wrong, and that was still a good amount of chocolate. I added more tea and less milk and its quite yummy. I shall be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2013
It was pretty good though I did put too much nutmeg for my taste. I'll know better for next time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2008
I like the idea of chocolate chai, but I found that the chocolate overpowers the tea and it just ends up tasting like spiced hot chocolate. Next time I will definitely adjust the amount of cocoa powder.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New London, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Almond, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2013
This is basically hot chocolate with a hint of chai tea. I used a bag of chai tea and thought I wouldn't need all the other ingredients. Perhaps that's why mine came out lacking in flavor. I will continue to use the chai tea bag and increase the water, but decrease the amount of cocoa.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Algonquin, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2013
It's far too strong on the nutmeg and it tastes more like spicy hot chocolate than chai tea.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Homemade Chocolate Cronuts

Pudding-filled chocolate donuts made with refrigerated crescent dough.

How to Make Chocolate Shakes

See how easy it is to make a thick, creamy chocolate shake.

How to Make Chocolate Strawberries

Watch how to make decadent chocolate-covered strawberries in five easy steps.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States